Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Exporting display over SSH

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Mars
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Exporting display over SSH

    Hi all,

    I'm having a hell of a time trying to get this to work. In my virtual Azure environment, I have CentOS 6.3 set up. I would like to export an instance of firefox because I'm testing something on localhost.

    I ran this command on remote (CentOS 6.3):
    Code:
    ssh -X someusername@somehostname.net -p 54444
    And on local (a Mac):
    Code:
    xhost +
    On remote:
    Code:
    xclock
    ... and nothing. I was expecting a small clock to show up. What am I messing up?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    9,324
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Exporting display over SSH

    Hi

    This is from the man page for ssh.

    -X Enables X11 forwarding. This can also be specified on a per-host basis in a configuration file.

    X11 forwarding should be enabled with caution. Users with the ability to bypass file permissions on the remote host
    (for the user's X authorization database) can access the local X11 display through the forwarded connection. An
    attacker may then be able to perform activities such as keystroke monitoring.

    For this reason, X11 forwarding is subjected to X11 SECURITY extension restrictions by default. Please refer to the
    ssh -Y option and the ForwardX11Trusted directive in ssh_config(5) for more information.

    -Y Enables trusted X11 forwarding. Trusted X11 forwardings are not subjected to the X11 SECURITY extension controls.
    Maybe that's the problem.

    Kind regards
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

    Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Mars
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Exporting display over SSH

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    Hi

    This is from the man page for ssh.



    Maybe that's the problem.

    Kind regards
    I have to disagree. I'm behind a router and that could be the main problem, imo. Not sure how to get around this issue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    9,324
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Exporting display over SSH

    Hi

    I may not be the best to help you then as i always ssh into the CLI and i have never used x11 forwarding.

    Still, this is a free bump for your trouble.

    Kind regards
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

    Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Beans
    713

    Re: Exporting display over SSH

    OP, you are not clear what your server is here. Ubuntu I presume? Anyhow, you must ensure X11Forwarding is set to Yes on your server (in /etc/ssh/sshd_config). The "xhost +" is not required btw.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Hills CA
    Beans
    10,048
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Exporting display over SSH

    I always use:

    ssh -2 -Y username@computername
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

    Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •