Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37

Thread: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    die Welt
    Beans
    635
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Post Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    Hi

    I don't think your drives are bad in a hardware sense.



    Partitions 1 to 6 are all on the same drive.

    This is your problem. Shrink your swap partition down in size or delete it while you clone onto the second hard drive.

    Kind regards
    Matt,

    Gparted won't let me shrink the Swap partion while the drive is mounted (this is the system drive). Also the SWAP partion is 8GB. How small should I make it? I believe to get around the mounting problem, I will have to boot from a live CD and use GParted from there to shrink the partition.

    Please fill me in on the details.

    Thanks Hannibal
    I love it when a plan comes together. It keeps me "on the jazz."

    Ubuntu Quantum 31.10.03 & Windows 10000 on Dell Inspiron 55200 Infinite-Core
    dual-boot system. 'Kill Bill XIV!'

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    /dev/root
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    Quote Originally Posted by coljohnhannibalsmith View Post
    Matt,

    Gparted won't let me shrink the Swap partion while the drive is mounted (this is the system drive). Also the SWAP partion is 8GB. How small should I make it? I believe to get around the mounting problem, I will have to boot from a live CD and use GParted from there to shrink the partition.

    Please fill me in on the details.

    Thanks Hannibal
    Yes, you should boot from another drive, and the Ubuntu install CD/DVD/USB is a good choice. Gparted comes with it and is ready to use.

    It is OK to remove the swap for this operation to succeed. Afterwards you can create new swap (as much as there is free space). The old rule that swap should be twice the ram is no longer valid with the large amount of ram in new computers. You can run without swap, but it is a good idea to have say 1 or 2 GB swap to buffer for temporary high memory demands. If you want to hibernate safely, you need at least the same amount of swap as ram.

    Anyway, if you wipe and recreate swap, you need to edit the UUID specification for the swap partition in the file /etc/fstab. The command
    Code:
    sudo blkid
    will list data such as UUID and labels of the partitions.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    die Welt
    Beans
    635
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Post Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    Hi

    I don't think your drives are bad in a hardware sense.



    Partitions 1 to 6 are all on the same drive.

    This is your problem. Shrink your swap partition down in size or delete it while you clone onto the second hard drive.

    Kind regards
    GParted will not let me shink the Swap Partition while the drive is mounted, so it appears that I will have to boot from a USB stick and them resize the partition. My Swap partition is currently 8GB, what should I shrink it to. Can you fill me in on the details?

    Thanks Hannibal
    I love it when a plan comes together. It keeps me "on the jazz."

    Ubuntu Quantum 31.10.03 & Windows 10000 on Dell Inspiron 55200 Infinite-Core
    dual-boot system. 'Kill Bill XIV!'

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    die Welt
    Beans
    635
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Question Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    Hi

    I don't think your drives are bad in a hardware sense.



    Partitions 1 to 6 are all on the same drive.

    This is your problem. Shrink your swap partition down in size or delete it while you clone onto the second hard drive.

    Kind regards
    Matt,

    I've shrunk my Swap partition down to 2GB from 8GB. There is now 6GB of unallocated space at the end of the drive in sda6. I've bought a completely different drive; and I'm going to try cloning again. I'll post the results when I'm done.

    Thanks Hannibal
    I love it when a plan comes together. It keeps me "on the jazz."

    Ubuntu Quantum 31.10.03 & Windows 10000 on Dell Inspiron 55200 Infinite-Core
    dual-boot system. 'Kill Bill XIV!'

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ubuntuland
    Beans
    2,124
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Exclamation Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    Quote Originally Posted by coljohnhannibalsmith View Post
    <cut>
    My version of Clonezilla is about 3 years old. Does it not support 1TB HDDs, or is my drive bad.

    Thanks Hannibal
    A LOT has changed in three years. A LOT.

    I would HIGHLY recommend a newer version of Clonzilla.
    24 beers in a case, 24 hours in a day. Coincidence? I think not!

    Trusty Tahr 64 bit, AMD Phenom II 955 Quad Core 3.2GHz, GeForce 9600 GT
    16G PC2-6400 RAM, 128 GB SSD, Twin 1TB SATA 7200 RPM RAID0

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    die Welt
    Beans
    635
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Post Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    This is the output from GParted:


    Code:
    Partition          File System          label          size               Used          Unused          Flags
    /dev/sda1        fat 16                                 39.19MiB        288.00KiB    38.19 MiB       diag
    /dev/sda2        ntfs                    Recovery    19.81GiB         12.18GiB     7.63GiB          boot
    /dev/sda3        ntfs                    OS             280.21GiB       60.08GiB     220.13GiB
    /dev/sda4        extended                              631.45GiB                -                 -
    /dev/sda5        ext4                                     623.54GiB      381.44GiB     242.10GiB
    /dev/sda6        linux-swap                                1.95GiB                -                 -
    unallocated      unallocated                               5.95GiB                -                 -
    I've tried Clonezilla in Beginner, Expert, and Sector by Sector modes and the ntfs partitions get copied perfectly; but when it reaches (sda5 the linux partition) it fails with the following message:

    Code:
    Source Partition file system is ext4
    /dev/sdc5 (destination drive) NOT found.
    
    The /proc/partitions in this system:
    Major          Minor          #blocks               Name
    8                0               97672584             sda
    8                1                    40131             sda1
    8                2               20772864             sda2
    8                3               293825072           sda3
    8                4                            1           sda4
    8                5               653834240           sda5
    8                6               2048000              sda6
    11              0                1048575              sr0
    8                16              976896                sdb
    8                17               975872               sdb1
    8                32              976762584           sdc
    8                33              321048                sdc1
    8                34              166182912           sdc2
    8                35              810251992           sdc3
    7                  0              93008                 loop0

    It appears that Clonezilla cannot see the Linux Partition no matter what I try. Also Dell setup the blocks to be 512 Bytes instead of 4096. I can't see why Clonezilla cannot cope with the partition table since the drives are exactly the same size.

    Is there something I've missed, or is there another way to do this? Someone recommended (rsync -xc).

    If this will work how do I enter the full command when the (source drive is sda) and the (destination drive is sdc).

    Thanks Hannibal
    I love it when a plan comes together. It keeps me "on the jazz."

    Ubuntu Quantum 31.10.03 & Windows 10000 on Dell Inspiron 55200 Infinite-Core
    dual-boot system. 'Kill Bill XIV!'

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ubuntuland
    Beans
    2,124
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    Get a newer version of Clonezilla. Three years in an eternity with stuff like this.
    24 beers in a case, 24 hours in a day. Coincidence? I think not!

    Trusty Tahr 64 bit, AMD Phenom II 955 Quad Core 3.2GHz, GeForce 9600 GT
    16G PC2-6400 RAM, 128 GB SSD, Twin 1TB SATA 7200 RPM RAID0

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    /dev/root
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    Quote Originally Posted by Slim Odds View Post
    Get a newer version of Clonezilla. Three years in an eternity with stuff like this.
    +1

    1. You need a current version of Clonezilla. We don't know how well it can handle ext4 file systems. Please listen to our advice

    2. After shrinking the swap partition, you need also shrink the extended partition (so that the unallocated space will be outside the extended partition). Then maybe it will work with a new Clonezilla.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    die Welt
    Beans
    635
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    Oh yes I forgot to mention, I now have the latest version of clonezilla. Also, rsync does not look like it will work on a dual boot system.

    Thanks Hannibal
    I love it when a plan comes together. It keeps me "on the jazz."

    Ubuntu Quantum 31.10.03 & Windows 10000 on Dell Inspiron 55200 Infinite-Core
    dual-boot system. 'Kill Bill XIV!'

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    /dev/root
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Clonezilla Failed To Clone 1TB To WD HDD

    1. Check

    And now for the next item:

    2. After shrinking the swap partition, you need also shrink the extended partition (so that the unallocated space will be outside the extended partition)

    Good luck

    If this won't work, there is always dd, nicknamed 'disk destroyer'. The distance between miracle and catastrophe is minimal with dd

    But if you are careful and triple check before running the command, it will work with dd.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •