Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    This is the error I get when trying:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gnome-shell
    Code:
    E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11: Resource temporarily unavailable)
    E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Beans
    713

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    That just means the automatic ubuntu update manager happened to be running at the same time you did that. Wait a minute and try again.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    Sorry, still new to this whole Linux game.

    It worked the second time around.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Michigan USA
    Beans
    2,051
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    In classic you can have as many or few panels as you like and put them on top, bottom, right, or left

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    In gnome-shell - I just get the wall paper - no menu, no bars, nothing.

    Is that normal?

    I'm running Ubuntu 12.10 in VMware Fusion on my MBP. I tried right cliking the bar, alt-right-click and nothing happens. Am I missing something here?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Beans
    713

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    You say you get "no bars" but you also say you tried "clicking the bar".

    What exactly do you see?

    Read https://help.gnome.org/users/gnome-h...uction.html.en,
    https://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell/Tour, https://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell/CheatSheet

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    Sorry, what I meant to say is:

    In Gnome-Shell, all I see is the wallpaper image, nothing else.
    In Gnome-Session-Fallback, the top and bottom bars a visible, however alt-right-clicking them, does nothing. However, as I stated, maybe this is a VMware issue, rather than an Ubuntu issue.

    I will read the links provided, thank you.

  8. #18
    ibjsb4 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    4,996

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    In Gnome-Session-Fallback, the top and bottom bars a visible, however alt-right-clicking them, does nothing.
    Try Super (window key) + Alt + right click

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    Okay, so I restored my Ubuntu to a previous snapshot version in VMware Fusion. I downloaded the gnome-shell and it asked me to select a default display manager. So I selected gdm (I Think) and I logged off and logged on with Gnome. Just the wallpaper show. No bars, menus or anything of the sort.

    What's causing this?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: I'm over Unity. How do I change it?

    Quote Originally Posted by ibjsb4 View Post
    Try Super (window key) + Alt + right click
    Don't have a Windows key. Using a MacBook Pro. However, this worked CMD + Alt + Right click.

    Panel now gone. Just the top bar is there.

    Thanks!!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •