Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cannot compile Gnofract4d 3.1.3 from source code

Beans

Cannot compile Gnofract4d 3.1.3 from source code

Hi,
    I am new to compiling programs from their source code. I am having a lot of trouble installing Gnofract4d v. 3.1.3. I have installed: libjpeg62-dev, python 3.2-dev, transcode, gcc++, gconf2.0, python-dev.

My current system looks like this:

Kernel: 3.5.0-17-generic (i686)
    C Library: unknown
    Default C compiler: Gnu C compiler v. 4.7.2
    Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
    DE: MATE
    Processor: AMD Athlon II X2 250 x2 (dual core), 3000.00MHz
    Memory: 3.9 GB

The error I get is when I try to extract from the tarball. I have tried "tar xzvf gnofract4d-3.1.3.tar.gz cd gnofract4d-3.1.3 ./setup.py build. It complained. It didn't like it. I have tried creating the folder gnofract4d in /usr/share, and extracting as admin. It complained again. This is what I get when I try either of these methods:

jennifer@HAL ~ $ sudo tar xzvf gnofract4d-3.1.3.tar.gz
    [sudo] password for jennifer:
    tar (child): gnofract4d-3.1.3.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
    tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    tar: Child returned status 2
    tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    jennifer@HAL ~ $ cd Downloads
    jennifer@HAL ~/Downloads $ tar xzvf gnofract4d-3.1.3.tar.gz
    tar (child): gnofract4d-3.1.3.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
    tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    tar: Child returned status 2
    tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    jennifer@HAL ~/Downloads $

If someone what I am doing wrong, I would greatly appreciate your help as this is becoming very frustrating.

Thanks,
    MorningLemon

Beans

Re: Cannot compile Gnofract4d 3.1.3 from source code

Are you sure the file you downloaded is gnofract4d-3.1.3.tar.gz not gnofract4d-3.13.tar.gz? (the latest version on their sourceforge site is 3.14.1)