Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to run from USB stick.

Beans

Trying to run from USB stick.

I am brand new to Ubuntu, so please try to make answers as simple as possible. I have started with a formatted system, no OS, just the BIOS. I am trying to set up a sever version of Ubuntu 12.04.2 LTS. I have used UNetbootin to create a USB boot drive with the intent of running the OS permanently from the USB boot drive. When the system boots it gives me several options such as try without installing and installing. I have selected the try without installing option to run it off the USB stick. Next it will go through the Ubuntu start up dots page with a mouse pointer, this is where it flakes out on me; it next gives me a screen with multiple horizontal lines and the mouse pointer, but it's frozen and I can't do anything with it. I'm asking for suggestions. THANKS IN ADVANCE!!

Beans

Re: Trying to run from USB stick.

Try re-formatting the USB you're intending to boot from, and install a fresh copy of Ubuntu on it. I had a similar problem in the past where the image wasn't written to the USB properly, but it worked when I re-wrote the Ubuntu image to the USB. However, in my case I was just installing via USB, not attempting to use the USB as my system's primary HDD.

Beans

Thanks, I'll give it a try.

monkeybrain2012 is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Beans

No you can't run it permanently from a usb created by unetbootin. It is only for testing, as a demo and for installation.