Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Broadcom Wifi card shows up as eth0, not solved by instructions from ubuntuforums

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Broadcom Wifi card shows up as eth0, not solved by instructions from ubuntuforums

Hi. i'm new here. I'm not brand new to Linux or Ubuntu but I'm not experienced enough to know how, or figure out how, to fix this myself. As in this thread -- http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1966631, if I issue ifconfig wlan0 up I get a return of 'no such device'. I knew I had a wifi card, because I was using it, so I issued ifconfig, and, to my surprise no wlan card was listed. That is when I came to ubuntuforums and found the aforementioned thread which lists a set of commands, to repair the issue, which I followed. The result was no improvement as well as now I can not connect my machine to my network by WiFi. The small WiFi status icon on the upper dock (I use Gnome Classic) is still there, but it is "empty", as in, there are no little bars inside the field of the icon to indicate connection/signal strength.

Now I have two questions. The first question is; how can I get the wifi working again? The second question is; once I have repaired the WiFi connection, how to I repair the original problem of the Broadcom WiFi card not being recognized when I issue ifconfig?
    Last edited by KittyCatHerder; March 28th, 2013 at 03:28 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Broadcom Wifi card shows up as eth0, not solved by instructions from ubuntuforums

Hi let's start by looking at what your wifi card is
    and seeing what drivers you may have loaded.
    open a terminal ctrl/alt/t then COPY and paste
    the following commands.
    Code:
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA3 net
    lsmod
    rfkill list all
    please post the results.
    thanks
    Craving anchovy, herring and squid pizza.....with clam sauce

Beans
    Distro

Re: Broadcom Wifi card shows up as eth0, not solved by instructions from ubuntuforums