Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: wifi not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Beans
    3

    wifi not working

    hi all i have been having a problem with my pci wifi card ever since i have installed 12.04. the issue is that the wifi card is not showing up in iwconfig. but if i run lspci i can see the card is there but unclaimed. the driver should be p54pci but using modprobe p54pci is not working.
    any and all help is very much welcome thakns for taking the time to read and to help..
    here is the output from terminal when lspci is run...

    thomas-FK587AA-ABA-SR5605F:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
    00:01.1 SMBus: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
    00:01.2 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
    00:02.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 USB 1.1 Controller (rev a3)
    00:02.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 USB 2.0 Controller (rev a3)
    00:04.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
    00:05.0 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
    00:06.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
    00:07.0 Bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
    00:08.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
    00:09.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
    00:0b.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:0a.0 Network controller: Intersil Corporation ISL3890 [Prism GT/Prism Duette]/ISL3886 [Prism Javelin/Prism Xbow] (rev 01)
    02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 104a (rev a1)
    02:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation HDMI Audio stub (rev a1)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK Lake District
    Beans
    3,092
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: wifi not working

    I'd prefer to see
    Code:
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    Ubuntu Member Always something different. Promoting Ubuntu and System 76 at TUXPC

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: wifi not working

    here is output


    thomas-FK587AA-ABA-SR5605F:~$ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    00:07.0 Bridge [0680]: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Ethernet [10de:03ef] (rev a2)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:2a5b]
    Kernel driver in use: forcedeth
    --
    01:09.0 Network controller [0280]: Intersil Corporation ISL3890 [Prism GT/Prism Duette]/ISL3886 [Prism Javelin/Prism Xbow] [1260:3890] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Cirrus Logic Device [1013:4201]
    Kernel modules: p54pci

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK Lake District
    Beans
    3,092
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: wifi not working

    Code:
    01:09.0 Network controller [0280]: Intersil Corporation ISL3890 [Prism GT/Prism Duette]/ISL3886 [Prism Javelin/Prism Xbow] [1260:3890] (rev 01)Subsystem: Cirrus Logic Device [1013:4201]Kernel modules: p54pci
    Suggests the driver is loaded
    Ubuntu Member Always something different. Promoting Ubuntu and System 76 at TUXPC

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: wifi not working

    ok but i still dont have lights or anything from card i haved tried everything that i can think of and that i have googled for the card hasnt worked.. it was working in my intel based box but that died yesterday so now im on my AMD box with a fresh install of 12.04

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UK Lake District
    Beans
    3,092
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: wifi not working

    You should check it with rfkill
    Make sure it's installed, then run:

    Code:
    sudo rfkill list
    Ubuntu Member Always something different. Promoting Ubuntu and System 76 at TUXPC

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •