Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Play Bastion at low resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    4

    Question Play Bastion at low resolution

    Hey guys,
    I recently bought Bastion on Steam for Linux and it runs terribly on my laptop at 1280x800(16:10) resolution but is much more playable at 800x600(4:3) resolution. I do this by changing my screen resolution for the whole system and then running the game. This is kind of annoying because I have to switch back after I'm done. Is there any way where I can make the resolution change automatically when I play the game? Like in Windows you have "Run in 640x480" in properties and stuff. Just wondering..
    Any and all help is appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark - Scandinavia
    Beans
    18,978
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    From Bastion READMe.txt file;

    The game stores it's configuration and other save game files in the ~/.SupergiantGames/Bastion
    folder located in your home folder. These files are not-editable outside of the game, but you
    back them up. Resolution settings are stored in the profiles.
    | AMD Ryzen 1700x 3.4 GHz | ASUS PRIME X370-A | 32 GB 2400 Mhz DDR4 |
    | ASUS Nvidia 1070 8 GB | SSD 250 GB | HDD 1 TB |


    Check my Desktop for ideas Desktop 1 and Desktop 2
    What Sheldon Cooper thinks of Ubuntu.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    I can't find the folder you're telling me about
    Another thing is that I'm looking not to change the resolution of the game, but the resolution of my computer when I start the game, and have it return to normal when I exit it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark - Scandinavia
    Beans
    18,978
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    Then you may want to look at this: http://www.vxbus.com/software/linux/...untu-1204.html
    and then build a script afterwards.

    A script contains a number of commands you want to execute, example of a script I use to tweak & run ET: Quake Wars
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    OLD_CONSOLE_KEYMAP=`xmodmap -pke|grep "51"|cut -d "=" -f 2`
    xmodmap -e "keycode 51 = quoteleft asciitilde"
    
    sh -c "cd /games/ETQW/ && pasuspender -- ./etqw-rthread +set s_alsa_pcm plughw:0" $@
    
    xmodmap -e "keycode 51 = ${OLD_CONSOLE_KEYMAP}"
    | AMD Ryzen 1700x 3.4 GHz | ASUS PRIME X370-A | 32 GB 2400 Mhz DDR4 |
    | ASUS Nvidia 1070 8 GB | SSD 250 GB | HDD 1 TB |


    Check my Desktop for ideas Desktop 1 and Desktop 2
    What Sheldon Cooper thinks of Ubuntu.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    Riiight. Okay, thanks for your help. I read through the link but I was looking for something a bit simpler.. guess it's not possible without making a script. I would, if I knew how xD
    Haha thanks anyways

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark - Scandinavia
    Beans
    18,978
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    If you give a go, create a file called B_launch.sh, open it with a text editor.
    When you start to make a script, you'll start with #!/bin/bash

    Next in line you want to tell the system to change resolution: xrandr --output VGA1 --mode <X>x<Y>_<Z>.00
    Perhaps insert a pause as well before launching the game: sleep 5
    Now to launch the game: sh -c "cd <destination> && ./<binary file>" $@
    And then last set the resolution back: xrandr --output VGA1 --mode <X>x<Y>_<Z>.00
    | AMD Ryzen 1700x 3.4 GHz | ASUS PRIME X370-A | 32 GB 2400 Mhz DDR4 |
    | ASUS Nvidia 1070 8 GB | SSD 250 GB | HDD 1 TB |


    Check my Desktop for ideas Desktop 1 and Desktop 2
    What Sheldon Cooper thinks of Ubuntu.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    I tried it. It says something like "cannot find mode 800x600" and same for the reverting resolution. And also "&&" unexpected. *confused*

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Beans
    212
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    Can you tell me more about your computer First
    Last edited by lisati; March 22nd, 2013 at 03:12 AM. Reason: Removed insult

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    Thread closed for staff review.
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Please use CODE tags
    Including your email address in a post is not recommended
    My Blog

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Play Bastion at low resolution

    Thread reopened.

    Quote Originally Posted by supergreatawesome View Post
    And also "&&" unexpected. *confused*
    Did you adapt the linesh -c "cd <destination> && ./<binary file>" $@ to your game's location and file name?
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Please use CODE tags
    Including your email address in a post is not recommended
    My Blog

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •