Thread: DVI Output + Onboard HDMI how to?

Beans

DVI Output + Onboard HDMI how to?

Hello, im extremely new to Ubuntu, just installed it and i loaded the Nvidia Drivers for my GTS450 which has an non working HDMI output. In Windows i have extended the screen from my monitor to my Samsung TV. The LG Monitor is connected to my GTS450 DVI output and my TV is connected to my Motherboards HDMI output and it works just fine. How can i get this set-up in Ubuntu. Thanks in advance for your help. This is my first Thread in Ubuntu Forums.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: DVI Output + Onboard HDMI how to?

My GT520 has to have the TV turned on and on the HDMI input before you bootup as it need to "see" the monitor at boot.
    In system tools Administration you will find "Nvidia X server setting" where you can set up the screens etc

Beans

Thanks I looked there but it the thing is the HDMI in my GTS450 is dead so in windows i have to use my onboard HDMI output instead. I can extend my screen to the TV but not via the Nvidia Control Panel (Win). I have to do it via the normal menu (left click in background - properties). Is this possible in Ubuntu? 2 different video cards one ONboard HDMI output and a monitor via DVI and still extend the screens?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Hi and welcome to the forums.

Quote Originally Posted by lolocoian View Post
    ...i have to use my onboard HDMI output instead... Is this possible in Ubuntu? 2 different video cards one ONboard HDMI output and a monitor via DVI and still extend the screens?
    The short answer is "no". Not with all of the eye candy at any rate. You may be able to kludge something together using Xinerama (I've never tried it), but you won't have compiz, therefore no Unity 3D. Linux support for spanning the DE across multiple video cards is not good. Spanning across the same video card works well but the choke point is multiple cards.