Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: nVidia driver fails Unbuntu 12.10 64 bit new install

Hybrid View

Beans

nVidia driver fails Unbuntu 12.10 64 bit new install

Greetings!

I'm new to Unbuntu and have been having graphic driver issues.

Rig: Dell Dimension 9200 Duo Core at 2.1 GHz
    nVidia GT 240
    4GB RAM

The only way I've been able to successfully get to the desktop is to use the 'nomodeset' switch with the noveau (sp?) driver. I have tried numerous guides on installing the nvidia driver and always end up at the same place...a desktop wallpaper with no desktop. I can right click, choose Change Wallpaper then I can choose All Settings to change the driver back to noveau. I tried every incarnation found in the software center and followed a number of guides using Terminal installs without any luck whatsoever.

I am currently re-installing Unbuntu 12.1 to bring me back to a default clean install.

Does anyone have any advice why the nvidia drivers fail to work? Or a guide that actually works for installing nvidia drivers? I would like to install the latest 310 version as the performance of this driver is supposed to be significantly better.

TIA,
    Randy

Beans

Re: nVidia driver fails Unbuntu 12.1 64 bit new install

Upon clean install, the linux headers are broken. So to fix them, in terminal type, "sudo apt-get --purge autoremove" Then do "sudo apt-get install nvidia-current" That will reinstall the headers and properly install the driver. It's best to do this from first boot on clean install or after updating the system. The update will fix the kernel headers as well.

Beans

Thank you, the system is currently being updated so I'll post my results when I've been able to complete the steps suggested.

Beans

Excellent! Thank you very much, ManamiVixen!

After the updates I did the purge and install steps as you said. After a reboot I saw the nVidia screen flash and now my screen resolution is correct for the monitor and things are running smoothly.