Page 4 of 24 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 239

Thread: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    Run Midnight Commander in Mir

    I think I cracked the demo code.

    If you want you can try this code to run Midnight Commander on the MIR server.
    First you have to have MC installed.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install mc
    After having all of you MIR files updated from the ppa run the code below on a terminal (CTRL+ALT+F1)

    Code:
    (sleep 200; mir) & mc ; kill $!
    The 200 represents 200 seconds that Midnight Commander will run *MC* on the mir server**. It will be fully functional but seems to terminate after the alotted time frame. To quit Midnight Commander just hit F10 then <yes> . Mir will exit normally. If it goes past timeframe it will terminate and you will need reboot CTRL+ALT+DEL.


    This test took place on a PC with these graphics card parameters:

    Code:
     *-display
                 description: VGA compatible controller
                 product: 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller
                 vendor: Intel Corporation
                 physical id: 2
                 bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
                 version: 04
                 width: 32 bits
                 clock: 33MHz
                 capabilities: vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
                 configuration: driver=i915 latency=0
    and will try on Nvidia and ATi also.




    Regards
    Ventrical
    Aren't You using
    Code:
    (sleep 200; mir) & mc ; kill $!
    a bit "backwards"...? If I read it properly You are not running MC in Mir at all...
    Ignota nulla curatio morbi.
    Quod nocet saepe docet.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Ignota nulla curatio morbi.
    Quod nocet saepe docet.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9,205
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    Aren't You using
    Code:
    (sleep 200; mir) & mc ; kill $!
    a bit "backwards"...? If I read it properly You are not running MC in Mir at all...

    Yes .. I am trying things backwards because there is basically not very much out there right now. I was able to prove the mir was actually running as a process using htop but, because of the way the code is set up I am unable to sustain it and only get verification after I have exited. So you are correct. That was an erroneous assumption on my part. All part of the fun of working on teh edge of Ubuntu lol

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9,205
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    "There's also numerous Bazaar code branches appearing too that show early work on other functionality. "

    Bazzaar??

    EDIT .. Ok .. got it

    Still no new demo hacking codes. So I'll keep hacking away at it here

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    Yes .. I am trying things backwards because there is basically not very much out there right now. I was able to prove the mir was actually running as a process using htop but, because of the way the code is set up I am unable to sustain it and only get verification after I have exited. So you are correct. That was an erroneous assumption on my part. All part of the fun of working on teh edge of Ubuntu lol
    This not on the edge, this is without reading man(ual)...
    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    "There's also numerous Bazaar code branches appearing too that show early work on other functionality. "

    Bazzaar??

    EDIT .. Ok .. got it

    Still no new demo hacking codes. So I'll keep hacking away at it here
    It does not matter how You hold a hammer it will not become screwdriver or other tool by simply changing the way You handle it... We have to wait until development comes to some new point... But, if that makes You happy, who am I to try to discourage You...
    Last edited by zika; March 14th, 2013 at 07:37 PM.
    Ignota nulla curatio morbi.
    Quod nocet saepe docet.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9,205
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    This not on the edge, this is without reading man(ual)...
    It does not matter how You hold a hammer it will not become screwdriver or other tool by simply changing the way You handle it... We have to wait until development comes to some new point... But, if that makes You happy, who am I to try to discourage You...

    Along as their is code to hack that's worth hacking .. I'm happy ! lol



    .
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9,205
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    That's,

    Code:
    (sleep 30; mir) & mir & htop ; kill $!
    It is very unstable. You have to CTRL+c Then you have to hit enter so it will not lock up on you and blank the page but you will see mir loaded in htop.

    Now to get it to run concurrent/stable.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    That's,

    Code:
    (sleep 30; mir) & mir & htop ; kill $!
    It is very unstable. You have to CTRL+c Then you have to hit enter so it will not lock up on you and blank the page but you will see mir loaded in htop.

    Now to get it to run concurrent/stable.
    Let us go step by step: What do You think this command does and what do You expect from it?
    Code:
    (sleep 30; mir) & mir & htop ; kill $!
    Would You try similar command with some other display server instead? What would You expect to happen?
    Again, do You understand role of "&" in shell line?
    Ignota nulla curatio morbi.
    Quod nocet saepe docet.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9,205
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Thanks zika.

    I am now able to get htop to run stable.

    The command is

    Code:
    mir & htop
    When htop loads it has mir startx and then htop below it. It is a very simple code. It appears that mir is calling Xserver and then loading htop?

    It takes up 100% of one side of a dual core. I am not trying to be a pain. Just trying different code. I studied Vax Unix in 1990 and did batch files in the 80's with DOS. But Linux and X I am just getting a handle on.

    So .. when I run 'mir" which is an executable file and use the "&" character to run 'htop' on mir (I assume). No man pages for mir as of yet. However mir is calling 'startx'. So .. if you decide to try it you will see 'mir startx' at the top of htop and htop below it.

    I'll get another pic.
    Last edited by ventrical; March 15th, 2013 at 01:06 PM.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9,205
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Pic of htop and mir.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 4 of 24 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •