Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New User Questions

Beans

New User Questions

Hi, I am new-er to Ubuntu and the world of Linux. I am an IT student that graduates in May and have used Windows my whole life and that's what I am taught as a student that everything runs on. I have grown a curiousity towards Linux and have found that Ubuntu is my favorite version. 2 days ago I tried to setup my laptop to dual boot Ubuntu and Windows 8, all other times I've tried to install Ubuntu it has given me an option to install next to Windows and import user info but this time for some reason it didn't and I installed over Windows 8. I'm not sure why this time it didn't give me an option. I have gotten a few questions about Ubuntu and I was hoping somebody could help me out:

1. I use Thunderbird to connect my Gmail account to. When I delete my email in Thunderbird it sends it to my 'all mail' folder in Gmail, how do I set it so it would go to my trash?

2. I have figured out how to access my Ubuntu machine from my Windows computers but I cannot seem to figure out how to access my Windows machines from Ubuntu, I get error messages. Is there something I have to set up?

3. I have 2 Windows programs I would like to run through Wine to make work on Ubuntu but how do I set that up?

4. Just a general curiousty question.....is Linux used very much in the corporate world?

I appreciate any help anybody can provide. So far I am loving Ubuntu, people make Linux out to be so complicated but really it doesn't seem to be, people are afraid of a learning curve. I would like to figure out how to install so I could configure the partitions on my own, just so I know how but I would have to play around. I am sure I will have more questions but these are just starting. Again thank you for any help you can supply.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: New User Questions