Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Installing to clean HDD from .iso file

Beans

Installing to clean HDD from .iso file

Well I seem to be not even as expert as an absolute beginner! I tinkered with Ubuntu a few years ago and then got distracted. I had no problems installing it from a USB stick at that time. Now I want to start again, as I have a spare PC. It runs Phoenix Award BIOS. Because the HDD had some nasty errors I reformatted it in Windows 7 (before I decided to try Ubuntu again). This time though, I can't get even get it installed. The PC won't boot from the USB, although the BIOS has 3 options:

USB-HDD
    USB-ZIP
    USB-CD

Not sure what this means, and motherboard manual (Foxconn) is no help. So I have tried to burn a DVD, but it won't boot from that either (yes I did change the boot in BIOS). I am trying to follow the Ubuntu website instructions, which tell me to download the .iso file for Ubuntu. So far so good, but next the site tells me to right click (in Windows 7) and select the option to burn to DVD. I do not get this option in Windows. The DVD I have burned is not bootable - whatever I do the BIOS always says `bootmgr missing'.

Compared with my previous experience, installation has become vastly more complicated. Or have I misunderstood?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Installing to clean HDD from .iso file

Ubuntu install is not complicated. If you are trying to burn the DVD from windows then you need Win32 Disk Imager. The Win32 Disk Imager's file browser assumes image files end with .img, so if the image-file you have selected ends with .iso, you will have to type its name in manually; this difference in suffixes is simply cosmetic however, the image will be written fine regardless. OR use UNETBOOTIN.

Before you burn the downloaded Ubuntu.iso check the integrity of the download by running MD5Sum Check.

In your case choose USB-HDD when you have to choose the boot device from BIOS.

Good Luck...