Thread: Windows 8 doesn't see Samba Shares

Beans

Windows 8 doesn't see Samba Shares

So I've been running an ubuntu server for about 6 months now (noob) and I set up a samba share which I used with windows 7 PC's. Once it was set up everything worked fine.

Now I have 2 windows 8 PC's and neither of them have my ubuntu server samba share showing up with network discovery. If I use the IP or hostname (\\ubunutu) the shares show up and work properly.

I just double checked and my windows 7 machine still automatically discovers the server, but neither windows 8 machine does. What could be my problem?

smb.conf
    [global]
    log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
    passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
    obey pam restrictions = yes
    domain master = yes
    username map = /etc/samba/user.map
    map to guest = bad user
    encrypt passwords = yes
    passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
    passdb backend = tdbsam
    wins support = true
    dns proxy = no
    netbios name = Ubuntu Server
    server string = %h server (Samba, Ubuntu)
    unix password sync = yes
    local master = yes
    workgroup = WORKGROUP
    os level = 65
    syslog = 0
    preferred master = yes
    panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d
    usershare allow guests = yes
    max log size = 1000
    pam password change = yes

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Windows 8 doesn't see Samba Shares

Quote Originally Posted by bmather9 View Post
    So I've been running an ubuntu server for about 6 months now (noob) and I set up a samba share which I used with windows 7 PC's. Once it was set up everything worked fine.

Now I have 2 windows 8 PC's and neither of them have my ubuntu server samba share showing up with network discovery. If I use the IP or hostname (\\ubunutu) the shares show up and work properly.