Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Automount Windows partition

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    14

    Smile Automount Windows partition

    I'm transitioning from Windows to Ubuntu and still have all my files on my Windows Vista partition. I am trying to mount the Windows Vista partition at startup. After some research, I performed the following two steps:

    1. Code:
      sudo mkdir /media/ACER
    2. Added this line to /etc/fstab :
      Code:
      UUID=FAA44061A440228D /media/ACER ntfs user,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0

    On reboot, the partition indeed mounts, but Nautilus also displays a ghostly twin in the sidebar, also called "ACER". (See attached picture.) Clicking on it yields an error message:
    Unable to mount ACER
    Mount is denied because the NTFS volume is already exclusively opened. The volume may be already mounted, or another software may use it which could be identified for example by the help of the 'fuser' command.
    Ideally I'd like for that twin not to appear. However, I read in another thread that mounting that partition read-write could cause Windows to become annoyed. So my question is two-fold:

    1. Is it advisable that I work like this, running Ubuntu and working on the files on the Windows partition?
    2. If so, how do I have the Windows partition automount at startup without that ghostly twin?

    I close with some relevant information that might be helpful.


    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
    # device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
    # that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
    # / was on /dev/sda5 during installation
    UUID=da0386dc-ba3b-4431-9d8a-ce53ffba814b /               ext3    errors=remount-ro 0       1
    # swap was on /dev/sda6 during installation
    UUID=4d19dbc8-a483-4dba-bed9-ee7de12cb2af none            swap    sw              0       0
    # Automatically mount ACER Windows drive
    UUID=FAA44061A440228D /media/ACER ntfs user,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders, total 390721968 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x52c031f8
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1              63    20466809    10233373+  27  Hidden NTFS WinRE
    /dev/sda2   *    20467712   205862911    92697600    6  FAT16
    /dev/sda3       205862912   298399735    46268412    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda4       298399744   390721535    46160896    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5       298401792   376225791    38912000   83  Linux
    /dev/sda6       376227840   390721535     7246848   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    Code:
    sudo blkid
    
    
    /dev/sda1: LABEL="PQSERVICE" UUID="7E5829D9E49BED2A" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda2: LABEL="ACER" UUID="FAA44061A440228D" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda3: LABEL="DATA" UUID="2E9AB0219AAFE395" TYPE="ntfs" 
    /dev/sda5: LABEL="UbuntuOS" UUID="da0386dc-ba3b-4431-9d8a-ce53ffba814b" TYPE="ext3" 
    /dev/sda6: UUID="4d19dbc8-a483-4dba-bed9-ee7de12cb2af" TYPE="swap"
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: Automount Windows partition

    1. Well, I used to work like that for a long time, and never had any problems with it.
    2. Try to do it using Disk Utility (Right click on partition -> mounting options, disable auto managing and set it to mount on startup [if i remember right])

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    52.5° N 6.4° E
    Beans
    6,824
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Automount Windows partition

    Nautilus lists partitions mounted in /media, because that's where any auto mounted drives (dvd, usb) go as well. If you mount the windows partition somewhere else (like /mnt, but it doesn't really matter at all), it should go away.

    Windows may not like it when you write to the partition where windows is installed, so it's often better to mount that partition read-only. Mounting your DATA partition read-write should be no problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Beans
    13,377
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate Development Release

    Re: Automount Windows partition

    You're not hibernating Windows while you are in Ubuntu, are you? Because if you are, any changes made to Windows while in Ubuntu run the risk of corrupting that partition. If you're going to access Windows while running Ubuntu, you need to disable hibernation in Windows.
    Ubuntu 20.04, Mint 19.10; MS Win10 Pro.
    Will not respond to PM requests for support -- use the forums.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    14

    Re: Automount Windows partition

    Quote Originally Posted by Impavidus View Post
    Nautilus lists partitions mounted in /media, because that's where any auto mounted drives (dvd, usb) go as well. If you mount the windows partition somewhere else (like /mnt, but it doesn't really matter at all), it should go away.

    Windows may not like it when you write to the partition where windows is installed, so it's often better to mount that partition read-only. Mounting your DATA partition read-write should be no problem.
    I took this to heart & moved my data to the DATA partition. Automounting to /mnt seems to be working fine.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Phelps View Post
    You're not hibernating Windows while you are in Ubuntu, are you? Because if you are, any changes made to Windows while in Ubuntu run the risk of corrupting that partition. If you're going to access Windows while running Ubuntu, you need to disable hibernation in Windows.
    I don't think so. I've never seen the hibernation option in Windows. Most days I never boot into Windows; I just mount that drive. But regardless, this is good to know.

    Thanks to all of you for your help.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •