Thread: Turn off Windows 7 permissions for ntfs so drive can be shared

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Unhappy Turn off Windows 7 permissions for ntfs so drive can be shared

Hi all,

I'm posting this to Absolute Beginners even though I've used Ubuntu for a while, because this seems like a noob-ish question.

My main computer dual boots Ubuntu 12.04 and Windows off its OS drive, and it also has an internal NTFS formatted data drive shared by the two OSes. I've also got a bunch of external drives for backup and archival storage, all of which are formatted NTFS. I've chosen NTFS because 1) easy sharing between OSes, and 2) large file sizes. I boot Ubuntu 95% of the time, but keep Windows around for a few tasks, like editing MP3 tags.

For years I've had Windows XP on my Windows partition, but I've recently upgraded to Windows 7. The problem I've encountered is that WIndows 7 apparently introduced the concept of file permissions on NTFS file systems (XP didn't do this). From what I've read on the web, it seems like W7 uses a different method of storing these permissions than Linux. I discovered this problem tagging mp3 files on an external drive in W7: In a directory of podcasts downloaded years ago, I was able to modify some of the files just fine, but W7 didn't let me modify others due to the new permission system. There seemed to be no rhyme or reason to what was allowed and what wasn't.

My question: Is there a way to turn this behaviour off in Windows 7? I am reluctant to start modifying permissions on my files and directories from inside Windows 7, because I am afraid that might mess up my ability to access the files from Ubuntu. I can't easily experiment either, since I've got TBs of archived and backed up data stored this way--if I have to back up all of this to experiment, I'll have to buy a lot of extra storage for backups of my backups.