Thread: How to add new HD to RAID 0 array

Beans

How to add new HD to RAID 0 array

Hi,
    I have a computer that I use as an Rsyn server to back up my NAS for the last year or two. I originally installed 4 hard drives into it, one on which I installed the Ubuntu 11.10 O/S and the other 3 for storing the backup data. The 3 drives for data I configured in RAID 0, and overlayed a single Logical Volume (using LVM) over top of it. Now I would like to add an additional hard drive and expand the RAID 0 and LVM to use all the space on the new drive, adding the space to the existing LVM. I've added the hard drive to the computer, and it is recognized by the 0/S as an empty drive, but am I not sure of the exact commands and their order to complete this task. I would rather not break the array, if possible. I'm basically a newbie to Linux, but can usually muddle my way through with written instructions and apply them fairly well.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: How to add new HD to RAID 0 array

Not positive as I avoid RAID0 and rather favor RAID5 and RAID50 instead. RAID0 has less "checks" in it than a single drive.

But
    From 2.6.35, the Linux Kernel was able to convert a RAID0 in to a RAID4 or RAID5. mdadm used this functionality and the ability to add devices to a RAID4 to allow devices to be added to a RAID0. When requested to do this, mdadm will convert the RAID0 to a RAID4, add the necessary disks and make the reshape happen, and then convert the RAID4 back to RAID0.

Prior to linux 3.x.x the procedure to perform this --grow was as follows:

Code:
     mdadm --grow /dev/md0 --raid-devices=3 --add /dev/sdc2
    After Linux 3.x.x, about a year ago, there was an upstream Linux Kernel Bug filed from Arch Linux that this had stopped working.

I know the current mdamd man page for Ubuuntu version 12.04 through versions 13.04 says:
    Grow