Thread: Automatically connect OpenVPN at Startup

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Automatically connect OpenVPN at Startup

Ubuntu 12.10

I pay for a VPN service that I connect to using OpenVPN.

Oftentimes, I start my computer and forget to connect to the VPN.

Is there a way to have it connect to my VPN upon startup by default?

I'm pretty new to linux and did some searching and found some answers that all involved writing shell scripts, which is a bit over my head, so I'm hoping there's an easier way.

Thank you.

Beans

Re: Automatically connect OpenVPN at Startup

~
    Last edited by ahallubuntu; July 3rd, 2013 at 02:21 AM.

Beans
    Distro

Wow! You did a great job explaining! Thanks so much. I did what you said and it worked on the first try. How did you learn all this stuff?

And as a more general question, which 1 aspect of your post should I read about a little more to gain general knowledge about how my Ubuntu machine runs? Should I learn about UUIDs?

Thanks again for the help.

Beans

~
    Last edited by ahallubuntu; July 3rd, 2013 at 02:21 AM.

Beans

Despite having hung around the forums for a while and having a pretty good handle on ubuntu I still chase answers for seemingly simple stuff every now and again.

ahallubuntu, this is one of the most pleasant, easily understood forum posts/replies I've ever seen, thank you

Cheers,

Demented

Beans

You could wait for Ubuntu 13.04 where network-manager has a new feature to start a VPN connection as secondary connection.

Or use the AUTOSTART feature in /etc/default/openvpn.

Beans
    Distro

Ahallubuntu's answer disappeared from the thread for some reason. I was able to grab a copy from Google's cache. Here it is: