Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: FireFox v18 No-Sound on YouTube

Beans

FireFox v18 No-Sound on YouTube

The problem is that there is no sound with YouTube videos. Google draws so many hits on this problem, that I’m confused about which option to take. I’m a Linux Newbie. This is a new computer from System76.

The YouTube video works fine and video’s with sound work elsewhere {e.g.www.snagfilms.com/ ...}. Sound definitely exists from a number of sources. After a couple days of use, the Updater prompted me to run updates. So I did and Firefox was updated to v18.0. I do not recall if I had used YouTube on this new PC prior to the update, so I don’t know if this problem was initiated by the update.

Here’s some config info on my new computer and for Firefox:
    Ratel Performance ( ratp1 )
    Ubuntu 12.10 64 bit, v12.10
    3rd Generation Intel Core i5 3470 (3.20GHz - 6MB cache - 4 Cores - HD Graphics 2500)
    4 GB – 2 x 2 GB - Crucial Sport Dual Channel DDR3 - 1600 MHz
    Intel High Definition Graphics
    250 GB SATA III 6 Gb/s 16 MB Cache
    CD-RW / DVD-RW Dual Layer
    Logitech Wireless Desktop MK320

Firefox v18.0
    aboutlugins (partial, relevant output) >>>
    Shockwave Flash
    File: libflashplayer.so
    Shockwave Flash 11.2 r202

Flash is NOT currently an installed plugin for Firefox. It is my understanding that I should not need both "Flash" and "Shockwave Flash" to play YouTube. The Ubuntu Software Center lists “Adobe Flash” under “Installed” (i.e. green field checkmark), though it is listed as “Installer”:
    Installer for the Adobe Flash plugin for Mozilla
    version: flashplugin-installer 11.2.202.261ubuntu0.12.10.1

Is there ever a time that both "Flash" and "Shockwave Flash" should be enabled plugins?
    Can someone point me to a solution for this?

Thanks,
    Cliff

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: FireFox v18 No-Sound on YouTube

Quote Originally Posted by Cliff Bentley View Post