Thread: PS3 Controller Help!!!!

Beans

PS3 Controller Help!!!!

Okay, so I am a noob to Ubuntu and before I switched from Windows 8 to Ubuntu 12.10 I was able to play PlayStation 1 and a few other emulators with a PlayStation 3 controller via USB on my laptop. Now since I have switched I haven't been able to find a program that will let me use my PS3 controller via USB with Ubuntu 12.10. Is there one around and I just haven't found it or is there not one yet?
    Thank you for the help.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: PS3 Controller Help!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by nonstick View Post
    Okay, so I am a noob to Ubuntu and before I switched from Windows 8 to Ubuntu 12.10 I was able to play PlayStation 1 and a few other emulators with a PlayStation 3 controller via USB on my laptop. Now since I have switched I haven't been able to find a program that will let me use my PS3 controller via USB with Ubuntu 12.10. Is there one around and I just haven't found it or is there not one yet?
    Thank you for the help.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install joystick jstest-gtk qjoypad
    Should do the trick. I have mine blue-toothed, its a bit tricky to do that.
    Code:
    jstest /dev/input/js*
    where * is replaced with 0 or 1, will let you see if it is getting input. (The PS3 controller makes two js devices. One only has 3 axis, the other just about everything else.)

I am assuming you are using an authentic Dualshock3 Playstation 3 controller.

If you prefer a GUI you can use jstest-gtk
    Last edited by ntzrmtthihu777; January 10th, 2013 at 02:53 AM.
    Technomancy
    The old ways are not the only ways. We study the mysteries of laser and circuit, crystal and scanner. Holographic daemons and invocations of equations. These are the tools we employ, and we know many things

Beans

I tried this but it doesnt seem to see my controller when its hooked up via usb.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Hello,