Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    324
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    Back with 10.04 I did have issues booting from gpt and trying to use MBR in XP. I had to explicitly add commands to tell it I was changing from gpt to MBR. Now partitions are labeled with hd0, gpt1 or hd1, msdos2.

    Grub used to have a drivelist file, but they did away with it and I think they just scan attached drives or look at BIOS list of drives. But if scanning and not able to read gpt perhaps that is an issue. I do not know if you can add both an insmod part_gpt and insmod part_msdos in the same boot stanza? With my mixed MBR & gpt system I only have one or the other depending on where I am booting from.

    Are you perhaps booting from gpt drive but install is in MBR drive?
    Please read my first post. I recommended Ubuntu to a friend, but Ubuntu only boots from livd-CD when the 4TB-drive is disconnected. We tried yesterday with only the 4TB-drive connected, but it didn't work either.He currently has Windows installed, of course.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    324
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    No ideas what's the problem and how to make GRUB boot Ubuntu?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    Does BIOS see 4TB drive correctly or is external?
    Back to BIOS settings or BIOS needing an update to work with very large drives.

    Edit.
    Are you sure you have the 64bit version of Ubuntu? It does not fit on a CD anymore, so you need DVD or flash drive to be able to correctly install.
    Last edited by oldfred; January 10th, 2013 at 01:58 AM.
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    324
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    Does BIOS see 4TB drive correctly or is external?
    Back to BIOS settings or BIOS needing an update to work with very large drives.

    Edit.
    Are you sure you have the 64bit version of Ubuntu? It does not fit on a CD anymore, so you need DVD or flash drive to be able to correctly install.
    What do you mean with if BIOS sees the drive correctly?

    Yeah. Of course I'm sure it's 64bit (the .iso-file is named "ubuntu-12.04.1-desktop-amd64.iso").

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    If BIOS does not report drive & size correctly, operating systems will not work with drive correctly, so it still could be a BIOS issue. What mode is BIOS, lba, large, ide, AHCI?
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    324
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    if bios does not report drive & size correctly, operating systems will not work with drive correctly, so it still could be a bios issue. What mode is bios, lba, large, ide, ahci?
    AHCI. What? Does BIOS report the size of the drive?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    324
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    No ideas/solutions?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    What mode is drive in? LBA, Large, AHCI or IDE?
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    324
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    What mode is drive in? LBA, Large, AHCI or IDE?
    Quoting myself...
    Quote Originally Posted by Bufeu View Post
    AHCI. Does BIOS report the size of the drive?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: "Prefix not set"-error when a disk has GPT

    Sorry, Missed that was the answer.

    I am out of ideas, but lets run BootInfo and see if it says anything else. It may or may not boot as it has some slightly different configurations.

    Post the link to the BootInfo report that this creates. Is part of Boot-Repair:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Info
    Boot Repair -Also handles LVM, GPT, separate /boot and UEFI dual boot.:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair
    You can repair many boot issues with this or 'Create BootInfo' report (Other Options) & post the link it creates, so we can see your exact configuration and diagnose advanced problems.
    Install in Ubuntu liveCD or USB or Full RepairCD with Boot-Repair (for newer computers)
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •