Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problems with Broadcom 4313

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    7

    Unhappy Problems with Broadcom 4313

    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky Ball View Post
    Good news. Please mark thread as solved from 'Thread tools' at top right of this page to help others. Cheers, and enjoy the OS and the forums.

    Not working for me. my computer is one Aspire S3 -951.

    Just after fresh installing 12.10 x64 , automatic software upgrade and broadcom bcm4313 disappear!.

    Some dea ??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    23,207
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.04 Zesty Zapus

    Re: Help with Broadcom BCM4313 802.11?

    Please let us see:
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep 0280
    rfkill list all
    dmesg | grep b43
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    7

    Angry Re: Help with Broadcom BCM4313 802.11?

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    Please let us see:
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep 0280
    rfkill list all
    dmesg | grep b43
    02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4727] (rev 01)

    rfkill list all
    0: hci0: Bluetooth
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    1: acer-wireless: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no
    3: phy1: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no

    (iḿ using a ralink usb stick just now)

    dmesg | grep b43 returns nothing


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    23,207
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.04 Zesty Zapus

    Re: Help with Broadcom BCM4313 802.11?

    Although the original poster titled the thread 4313, as you see above, he has a 4312.
    Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4315] (rev 01)
    You have a different device; an actual 4313:
    Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4727]
    Your fix is to hook up the ethernet temporarily and do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic
    sudo apt-get install --reinstall bcmwl-kernel-source
    sudo modprobe wl
    Detach the ethernet and your wireless should be working.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Oblivion
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Help with Broadcom BCM4313 802.11?

    @ jvano: Your post has been moved to a thread of its own.

    Please post new threads for your problems rather than hijacking already solved ones. You dilute your chances of getting help. Thanks.

    PS: You can change the title of this new thread by clicking 'Go Advanced'.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    26

    Re: Problems with Broadcom 4313

    This same card came in my new Acer Aspire One 725, and although the fix suggested here does get the drivers loaded, the performance is very poor. I'm running 12.10 with the new kernel that just came out today. 3.5.0-22 64 bit. I've also noticed it disconnecting and reconnecting occasionally. I watch the speed on System Monitor while I download. I see an initial burst of maybe 750 KiB/s and then sustained at only about 300 KiB/s. I'm curious to know if you notice the same behavior.

    I replaced it with a bcm4312 which seems quite happy with the wl module and I get sustained download close to 900 KiB/s, which is about my DSL maximum.

    Another note is that with every new kernel I must repeat the steps of install the kernel headers and rebuilding the modules (wl.ko) as given above. I build the module differently than the procedure above:
    Code:
    dpkg-reconfigure bcmwl-kernel-source
    Probably equivalent.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    7

    Smile Re: Help with Broadcom BCM4313 802.11?

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    Although the original poster titled the thread 4313, as you see above, he has a 4312.You have a different device; an actual 4313:Your fix is to hook up the ethernet temporarily and do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic
    sudo apt-get install --reinstall bcmwl-kernel-source
    sudo modprobe wl
    Detach the ethernet and your wireless should be working.
    oh !, you are absolutely right .

    the istructions worked for me, but with a paintfull low speed.
    I can attach my computer to the wify network, but inmediately the
    transfer speed decreases from hundred kb/s to some kb/s.
    Unusable at all.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    7

    Wink Re: Problems with Broadcom 4313

    [QUOTE=jweber53;12436832]This same card came in my new Acer Aspire One 725, and although the fix suggested here does get the drivers loaded, the performance is very poor. I'm running 12.10 with the new kernel that just came out today. 3.5.0-22 64 bit. I've also noticed it disconnecting and reconnecting occasionally. I watch the speed on System Monitor while I download. I see an initial burst of maybe 750 KiB/s and then sustained at only about 300 KiB/s. I'm curious to know if you notice the same behavior.

    I replaced it with a bcm4312 which seems quite happy with the wl module and I get sustained download close to 900 KiB/s, which is about my DSL maximum.

    Another note is that with every new kernel I must repeat the steps of install the kernel headers and rebuilding the modules (wl.ko) as given above. I build the module differently than the procedure above:
    [CODE]
    dpkg-reconfigure bcmwl-kernel-source


    after fix, i experiment the same behavior that you have described.

    the speed oscilates and fall down to some kB/s .

    (just removing the twelve screws on the bottom of my Aspire S3 to replace the b4313 board)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    26

    Re: Problems with Broadcom 4313

    Quote Originally Posted by jvano View Post

    after fix, i experiment the same behavior that you have described.

    the speed oscilates and fall down to some kB/s .

    (just removing the twelve screws on the bottom of my Aspire S3 to replace the b4313 board)
    Thank you for the confirmation. It's good to know I'm not crazy

    Do you also have problems controlling the display backlight brightness? If so, see the thread I started here:

    Can't adjust display backlight on Acer Aspire One 725-0884


    My Aspire One only has one cover screw

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •