Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: boot degraded raid does not accept any input

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Beans
    223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    boot degraded raid does not accept any input

    I'm running 12.10 and want to replace a faulty raid member, but cannot input the 'y' when prompted if I want to boot into a degraded raid.

    I doesn't accept any keyboard input at all and eventually drops me into initram

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    1,537
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: boot degraded raid does not accept any input

    What raid level are you using. A two disk raid0 is inoperative if a drive fails! Otherwise there are ways to repair your system from a live cd.
    12.10 Quantal w/grub2/Mint13 installed on raid0, Gigabyte AMD MB, AMD 64x4 CPUs at 3.2GHz, 16 GB ram, HD7770 ATI video, dual boot win7 on 64gb ssd and win8 on 1Tb SATA raid. 13.04 installed on raid0 and ssd

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Beans
    223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: boot degraded raid does not accept any input

    Sorry, should have been clearer

    I've got a raid 1 for / and raid 5 for /home

    disks a, b, c with b a standby for the raid 1.

    wanted to replace disk b and the resync the raid 5.

    That all works as I've done something similar before.

    When I boot into safe mode, before it get to the prompt the check indicates that the raid1 os ok.

    My problem is that the prompt (for the degraded RAID) does not accept any input

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mataro, Spain
    Beans
    13,796
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: boot degraded raid does not accept any input

    Is it a wireless keyboard? Try wired one.

    Alternatively, try to do the operation from live mode, not from your booted system since it can't boot.

    You can add the mdadm package in live mode and assemble the array with:
    sudo mdadm --assemble --scan

    After that fail and remove the sdb partitions, add the new disk and let it sync. It should work although it would be much better if you can get the system to boot and do it from inside. That is why when setting up mdadm I set it to boot degraded, I think it will boot without user input if a disk fails.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Beans
    223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: boot degraded raid does not accept any input

    Yes, its a wireless keyboard, so the question is why I can use that keyboard for the selection of which type of boot, but once I boot into failsafe, I can't.

    Looks like a bug

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    1,537
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: boot degraded raid does not accept any input

    It may be a script with a faulty error trap that is locking your computer up? On the other hand, if you can clear away the problem booted to a live cd everything could be fully functional thereon.
    12.10 Quantal w/grub2/Mint13 installed on raid0, Gigabyte AMD MB, AMD 64x4 CPUs at 3.2GHz, 16 GB ram, HD7770 ATI video, dual boot win7 on 64gb ssd and win8 on 1Tb SATA raid. 13.04 installed on raid0 and ssd

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Beans
    223
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: boot degraded raid does not accept any input

    Negative. I've had this before on another one of my servers, so I think it's a bug

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    1,537
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: boot degraded raid does not accept any input

    Do a search on launchpad to see if anyone else has reported a similar problem.
    12.10 Quantal w/grub2/Mint13 installed on raid0, Gigabyte AMD MB, AMD 64x4 CPUs at 3.2GHz, 16 GB ram, HD7770 ATI video, dual boot win7 on 64gb ssd and win8 on 1Tb SATA raid. 13.04 installed on raid0 and ssd

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •