Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: OpenVPN client can't connect from outside LAN

Beans

OpenVPN client can't connect from outside LAN

Hi everyone,

Let me start out by saying that I'm new to ubuntu server (12.10), and I am trying to use it as a VPN server.

I have followed loads of docs, and what I have accomplished is that I can connect with tunnelblick (vpn client for mac osx) to the server ONLY if I am on the LAN. With this connection I am getting the ip I want it to get (192.168.1.128 -- the first in the list in the server-bridge config), and there is also a connection to the WWW.

My problem is that the client and server fails to make a TLS handshake when outside the LAN (if I am in a coffee shop, for instance)

my server on the lan is 192.168.1.54, externally it is 80.x.x.197. Besides that, I am using default port 1194.

I am currently using a ZyXEL NGB5715 router, and have forwarded port 1194 to 192.168.1.54

My /etc/network/interfaces file is as follows:

# The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    I am not using a static ip for my server, is this a problem?

My server.conf file for openvpn is:

local 192.168.1.54
    port 1194
    proto udp

dev tap0

ca ca.crt
    cert server.crt
    key server.key
    dh dh1024.pem

ifconfig-pool-persist ipp.txt
    server-bridge 192.168.1.54 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.128 192.168.1.254
    server-bridge

push "route 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0"
    push "dhcp-option DNS 80.x.x.2"

client-to-client

keepalive 10 120
    tls-auth ta.key 0

comp-lzo
    user nobody
    group nogroup

persist-key
    persist-tun

status openvpn-status.log
    verb 3
    what should my server ip be? the one I have declared or the one that has 80.x.x.197?

This is driving me nuts.

My iptables are as follows:

sudo iptables -L
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination
    ACCEPT udp -- anywhere anywhere udp dpt:domain