Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    solved - upgraded my thinking to ext4 with everything in / and it worked out of box




    Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU
    1.4CPU, 512Ram, 40GHDD
    Grub Dual Boot Win7
    Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS Server

    i have the dreaded
    02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285
    Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002b] (rev 01)
    Im having problems with it starting reliably...

    I've tiried a lot of the methods here and am embarrassed to post this as there is already a plethora of info about it so i thought if i blog my steps maybe someone could nudge me along in the right direction...

    As to the many methods i have tried here i would next like to try blacklisting but im not sure exactly what to blacklist. My best guess is ath_pci and i tried that last install along with disabling ip6. I could have sworn it worked for one boot but that was one boot of many....

    i am also sort of following this thread
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...1#post12425691


    I've just done a fresh install and going thru the updates grades

    apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade.
    I normally also
    sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    but im holding off until i sort the wireless connect issue.

    After above it says reboot required so i reboot twice, i havnt tried that yet......nope, reboot twice at that particular point doesnt fix it....

    On the first boot from the install I have to sudo ifup wlan0
    iwconfig before ifup on first boot from install

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"BigPondE90E07"
    Mode:Managed Access Point: Not Associated Tx power=14dBm
    Retry long limit:70 RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Power Managementn

    eth0 no wireless extensions.
    Then i run
    sudo ifup wlan0
    it reports
    ssh stop/waiting
    ssh start/running, process 1327
    I then iwconfig and get this
    robert@camserver3:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"BigPondE90E07"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 58:98:35:E9:0E:07
    Bit Rate=26 Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm
    Retry long limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Power Managementn
    Link Quality=34/70 Signal level=-76 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:1 Invalid misc:26 Missed beacon:0
    eth0 no wireless extensions.
    running sudo lshw -C network from the other thread i get this but im exhauseted for the moment
    *-network
    description: Wireless interface
    product: AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
    vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
    logical name: wlan0
    version: 01
    serial: c4:17:fe:2f:d7:44
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath9k driverversion=3.2.0-29-generic-pae firmware=N/A ip=10.0.0.3 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
    resources: irq:16 memory:93500000-9350ffff
    *-network DISABLED
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
    vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: 02
    serial: 00:26:9e:f0:54:99
    size: 10Mbit/s
    capacity: 100Mbit/s
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix vpd bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
    configuration: autonegotiation=off broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=half firmware=N/A latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=MII speed=10Mbit/s
    resources: irq:43 ioport:2000(size=256) memory:91410000-91410fff memory:91400000-9140ffff memory:91420000-9142ffff
    robert@camserver3:~$
    So im just going to put a cup of tea on and come back to look at this result


    ps - what have i done with the quote tags? is it normal the front one shows in the page...darn it..
    Last edited by robertthebruce; December 31st, 2012 at 06:47 PM. Reason: problem stated in first para

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    so ive now done this
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-ath_pci.conf
    and getting this
    robert@camserver3:~$ cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-ath_pci.conf
    # For some Atheros 5K RF MACs, the madwifi driver loads buts fails to
    # correctly initialize the hardware, leaving it in a state from
    # which ath5k cannot recover. To prevent this condition, stop
    # madwifi from loading by default. Use Jockey to select one driver
    # or the other. (Ubuntu: #315056, #323830)
    blacklist ath_pci
    from what i can gather that command may have made an entry into the a file by creating a file... i reckon that's pretty clever, one day i may have time to read more about that...
    Last edited by robertthebruce; December 28th, 2012 at 03:41 PM. Reason: for got to mention going for a reboot

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    nahh, that didnt work...

    imof to sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

    and adding

    blacklist ath5k
    blacklist ath9k

    and just for the hell of it,,,

    # blacklist ath_pci

    ( but i think i already did that with itas own file earlier)


    going for a reboot...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    npe, lost wlan0 completely... have gone back to modprobe to hash one of them....

    and a reboot

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    nope, hashing the first one didnt bring the wifi light to blue (on)

    have visa-versa'a....

    if this doesnt activate the wifi light from orange im going to boot into window to reactivate the wifi then boot back to u and see if the one stated will pick up

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    ..lovely, the iface light actuvated blue which means the card can recover from blacklisting....

    ive unhashed ath9 and hashed in ath5 in the conf file and will then ty a reboot
    robertthebruce is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
    Old 20 Minutes Ago #7
    robertthebruce
    First Cup of Ubuntu




    ok, so it doesnt like ath9 at all...
    and unblacking ath5 brings up the card which is great
    ive unhased/BL's aht_pci as well on this boot just to see what happens........nopr....i amy have to unblack it with that earlier command...hmmmm.....
    robertthebruce is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
    Old 6 Minutes Ago #8
    robertthebruce
    First Cup of Ubuntu




    The wifi-light turn from orange to blue reliably

    i did this by blacklisting ath9
    i had earlier modprobe blacklisted ath_pci which had no effect..
    i have now "rm"d that modprobe
    reboot
    robertthebruce is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
    Unread 1 Minute Ago #9
    robertthebruce
    First Cup of Ubuntu


    nahhh, all that hasnt worked.... im back at the full circle of the last install

    it's wierd... after boot

    sudo ifup wlan0
    reports that it is already configured (but its not)

    then it doesnt matter how long i wait it will not connect untill i run some command that touchs some part of it....even the modules file which it is not mentioned except by dependency

    sudo ifup wlano
    reports that ssh start stop string



    i am not sure where to go to from here
    robertthebruce is online now Report Post

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    how lovely is this.... it 2am... AGAIN! wafpoc!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    Quote Originally Posted by robertthebruce View Post
    i have now "rm"d that modprobe
    ends up i iddnt rm the mod file i actually rm's my entire blacklist file...

    cant fnid the recycle bin so reloading 12

  9. #9
    squakie is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    2,238
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    You need to not blacklist ath9k - that's the driver you need. I also noticed you are connecting to some network: BigPondE90E07

    So, maybe a little clarification on what you mean by "not starting reliably". At startup? After hibernating? After suspend?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    35

    Re: Compaq Presario CQ61 406TU Atheros Wireless Adapter

    hi Squakie many thanks for your reply...

    yes you are correct i need ath5k blacklisted.

    what i meant by "reliably" was that within the first few boots from install it seems i cannot reliably configure it,,,,
    it worked during install - ie blue light comes on and connects to essid BigPond
    it worked with ifup on second boot (after upgrades, ie blue light comes on during boot and connects to essid BigPond

    on third boot blue light does not change,
    ifup says its configured,
    iwconfig is empty
    i then run ifup again and light turns blue and connects....

    I've done another fresh install....

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •