Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Inconsistent Data Read & Memory Issue after Installation

Beans

Inconsistent Data Read & Memory Issue after Installation

Hello Ubuntu Community,

I'm quite new to Linux (some very limited experience with openSUSE several years ago) but since I'm really tired of Windows, I feel the time to switch over to Linux has come.

I have installed 12.10 yesterday, and have some issues for which I'd like to ask advice.

Okay, first of all a short description of my box, and of what I've done so far:
    BIOS: Intel MQ96510J.86A.1754.2008.1117.0002
    Mainboard: Intel DQ963FX with Graphics Chipset Q965/Q963
    CPU: Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2180 @ 2.00GHz
    PCI Graphics Card: ZOTAC GeForce GT430
    Sound: onboard (Windows uses NVIDIA High Definition Audio from graphics card install)
    Wired Networking Adapter: Intel 82566DC Gigabit Network Connection
    Wireless Networking: none
    Optical Drive: LG DVD burner, model GH24NS90 (ATA Device)
    HDD1 (sda): Samsung HD502HJ
    HDD2 (sdb): Samsung HD320KJ

Windows 7 is installed on sda1-3.

I have installed Ubuntu on sdb as follows (I used Unetbootin with mini.iso, since 12.10-desktop.iso doesn't permit use of the LVM):
    sdb1: Bootable - ext4 - /boot
    sdb5: Volume Group, consisting of / + /home + /tmp + /usr + /var (all ext4) + 2x swap.
    Since Windows always acts up if it isn't installed on the first HDD in row, and since Windows updates tend to overwrite the MBR, I have placed GRUB on sdb1 but use the Windows boot manager (edited with EasyBCD).

When booting the system and choosing Ubuntu, I am greeted by the following:
    Initialize variable space ...
    Starting cmain() ...
    Fatal! Inconsistent data read from (0x90)0+32
    Fatal! Inconsistent data read from (0x90)16+1
    This repeats 4 times, so that, all in all, I have 10 lines of the above.
    (hd1,0)
    [Multiboot-kludge, loadaddr=0x100000, text-and-data=0x6739, bss=0x0, entry=0x100968]