Page 8 of 60 FirstFirst ... 6789101858 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 598

Thread: GNOME3 Staging PPA

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,991
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry33 View Post
    Have you tried to reinstall critical packages by chrooting from a live-USB?
    No, but that's a good idea!

    I burned a live-dvd yesterday.

    I'll try that, in a couple of days.

    Thanks, Harry!
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    1,043
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Exclamation Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry33 View Post
    There is a problem in Gnome3 Staging PPA now.

    The newest gnome-desktop3_3.7.3-0ubuntu1~raring3
    changed the name of the package
    libgnome-desktop-3-4
    to
    libgnome-desktop-3-5.

    A number of packages (like gnome-control-center, eog, nautilus) depend on libgnome-desktop-3-4.
    So all those must be rebuilt before this installation.
    Actually, we're not going to rebuild everything against the new version of gnome-desktop3 as that's a lot of work and is rather fragile. (Every time the regular Ubuntu repositories update an affected package, we'd have to rebuild that package in the PPA so things don't break).

    I just uploaded a fix for this to the regular raring repositories so run this command (in an hour or two, once it's built and published):

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libgnome-desktop-3-4=3.6.2-0ubuntu5
    I'm not sure that we can (cleanly) automatically fix this for those already using the GNOME3 Staging PPA as they have the 3.7.2 version of that library already installed.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    1,043
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by jbicha View Post
    I'm not sure that we can (cleanly) automatically fix this for those already using the GNOME3 Staging PPA as they have the 3.7.2 version of that library already installed.
    Never mind. ricotz suggested that we just upload a fixed 3.7.2 version to the GNOME3 PPA (which users of the GNOME3 Staging PPA should also have enabled), which should fix this problem without the need to manually install libgnome-desktop-3-4.

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    36

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    I used this staging ppa and the Keyboard Layout Indicator came back...finally. However, I'm having issues with the Romanian Layouts, I've already filed a bug https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=691290 but they suspect it's Ubuntu-specific. The trouble is that the "Romanian" layout is the same with "Romanian(standard)", "Romanian(cedilla)", (Romanian(cedilla standard)" and all the other four Romanian layouts. I need "Romanian standard" back, it's a pain in the **** to use the simple "Romanian" layout (I need to write diacritics with Alt+s or Alt+t and it takes longer when writing documents). When I try to change from "Romanian" to "Romanian(standard)" gnome-shell freezes, I have to log out-log in, I can see it displayed by the Layout Indicator on the top bar (shortcut: "ru", instead of "ro2", as it should have been indexed, before the problems with the Indicator they were displayed "ro1", "ro2", etc., i.e. in previous GNOME versions), but when I press it...it's just the simple Romanian layout, no trace of Romanian Standard. Can you fix this bug once and for all, I beg you!

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,541

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Hmmm, I'm testing an Ubuntu-GNOME-Remix installed via mini.iso and the only package conflicts I see are:

    Code:
    The following packages have been kept back:
      gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0 gnome-desktop3-data
    I guess things get complicated if you have Ubuntu itself installed

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    36

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Code:
    The following packages have been kept back:
      gdm gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0 gnome-desktop3-data
    What does THIS have to do with the Romanian Keyboard Layout issue?

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    36

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    ...and it's not only the Romanian Layouts that suffer from this bug. When I tried adding Armenian (eastern) BUMP the top bar disappeared, I had to log out and log in, and, of course, the Armenian (eastern) Layout was not working.

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    4,516
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    At least You have + to add layout...
    Somewhere here is my post about not being able to add any other layout...
    Luckily I was smart enough to add all of them during installation process...
    Ignota nulla curatio morbi.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,541

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by riderplus View Post
    Code:
    The following packages have been kept back:
      gdm gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0 gnome-desktop3-data
    What does THIS have to do with the Romanian Keyboard Layout issue?
    Nothing, I was just reflecting on the GNOME3 Staging PPA overall

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,991
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by dino99 View Post
    maybe you need to re-activate that ppa , to get around that libpam issue, to be able to downgrade the other package(s).[...]
    Quote Originally Posted by Harry33 View Post
    Have you tried to reinstall critical packages by chrooting from a live-USB?
    You aren't going to believe this...

    I've been tied up at (real life) work, this week, and only have a few minutes of idle time here n' there to play around on the computer.

    I just got home, updated my Facebook page, and decided to try yet another upgrade, before going to bed.

    Guess what?!?!? The dam broke, and 100's of upgrades came flooding in -- so many, in fact, that I got a warning notification that my root partition was running out of space. It was almost as if the entire OS was re-installing itself. LoL!

    When all was said and done, I performed a cold reboot, and was greeted with a GDM login screen on a beautiful Debian background, instead of the usual monkey vomit LightDM screen.

    Alrighty then...

    I'm in GS right now, and everything appears to be back to normal. Flying like the wind, it is!

    I initiated an apt-get upgrade in CLI, just to make sure I wasn't dreaming.

    Code:
    vindsl@Zuul:~$ sudo apt-get upgrade
    [sudo] password for vindsl: 
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    The following packages have been kept back:
      gir1.2-gnomedesktop-3.0 gnome-desktop3-data gnome-settings-daemon
    The following packages will be upgraded:
      nvidia-settings
    1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 3 not upgraded.
    Need to get 1,813 kB of archives.
    After this operation, 13.3 kB of additional disk space will be used.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]? n
    Abort.
    vindsl@Zuul:~$
    Three upgrades are being held-back.

    nvidia-settings is listed (which I pinned in Synaptic).

    All the perl warnings and fatal libpam errors disappeared.

    So, it looks like the assassins have failed again!

    Heh! I'm gonna have to think about this one, for a while...
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

Page 8 of 60 FirstFirst ... 6789101858 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •