Page 4 of 60 FirstFirst ... 234561454 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 598

Thread: GNOME3 Staging PPA

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Coast of Florida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Hrm...

    I've been toying with GS, since it became available.

    Over time, I've used various PPAs. Some PPAs were/are more stable than others.

    Most recently, I've been using ricotz/testing:You might want to upgrade your system with these packages (e.g. fill some of the holes) then disable it, when you're done.

    Basically, my setup is a standard GS install, upgraded with packages from ricotz/testing, and gnome3-team/gnome3-staging.

    To be clear, the only unsupported packages that I'm currently checking/upgrading are from gnome3-team/gnome3-staging.
    I tried adding the ricotz/testing PPA and everything seemed to go well but upon rebooting, nothing would open: tweak tool, firefox, etc.

    So I installed ppa-purge and tried to purge both PPAs but, that didn't work:

    Code:
    cavsfan@cavsfan-MS-7529:~$ sudo ppa-purge ppa:ricotz/testing
    Updating packages lists
    PPA to be removed: ricotz testing
    Warning:  Could not find package list for PPA: ricotz testing
    Code:
    cavsfan@cavsfan-MS-7529:~$ sudo ppa-purge gnome3-team/gnome3-staging
    Updating packages lists
    PPA to be removed: gnome3-team/gnome3-staging ppa
    Warning:  Could not find package list for PPA: gnome3-team/gnome3-staging ppa
    I think I broke it. Time to reinstall I guess. I'll download a newer iso.
    It was probably time any way. Nothing was breaking at all.
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen on Arch Linux
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 2.84 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, Mobo: MSI model: G31M3-L V2(MS-7529)

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    Update₃: You've got me hooked again...

    Rather addictive, yes?


    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    I think I broke it. Time to reinstall I guess. I'll download a newer iso.
    It was probably time any way. Nothing was breaking at all.
    Keep after it!

    It's no fun, when things just work...
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    w00t! I figured out why Unity was looking janky, e.g. solid black background on the desktop and switcher!

    Actually, I discovered the 'problem' while playing around in LXDE.

    I wanted to see what would happen if I didn't allow PCMANFM to control the desktop, and guess what? It looked just like Unity. LoL!

    Long-story-short, I allowed Nautilus to control the desktop in GS -- logged into Unity -- and Bingo!




    Looks like grunt, with the defaults being "stickified", and all, but at least it's a start...
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    4,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Rather addictive, yes?
    It is, and fast...
    It works nicely both from gdm and lightdm... I even seem to like it more with lightdm...
    It works also nicely from .Xsession (startx) but I'm having problem finding way to start fallback from .Xsession... I'll have to investigate syntax for that today if time permits...
    Many things are waiting to be discovered in this new GS...
    Ignota nulla curatio morbi.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,604

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    It is, and fast...
    It works nicely both from gdm and lightdm... I even seem to like it more with lightdm...
    It works also nicely from .Xsession (startx) but I'm having problem finding way to start fallback from .Xsession... I'll have to investigate syntax for that today if time permits...
    Many things are waiting to be discovered in this new GS...
    The most amazing thing to me is the performance as compared to Mint's Muffin fork of Mutter and Ubuntu's Compiz ............. I'm at least guessing it's 90% a window manager thing. Time will tell

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    4,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by kansasnoob View Post
    The most amazing thing to me is the performance as compared to Mint's Muffin fork of Mutter and Ubuntu's Compiz ............. I'm at least guessing it's 90% a window manager thing. Time will tell
    I feel that it is faster with lightdm than with gdm but I was playing with fallback so... Yesterday I've spent whole day in vanilla GS&gdm... Like it...
    Ignota nulla curatio morbi.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Coast of Florida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Keep after it!

    It's no fun, when things just work...
    Well, I pretty much have it back like it was. The newer ISO gave some better apps than the one I initially used.
    I forgot how much stuff you have to add to a fresh install to get it like you want it: Nvidia drivers, Compiz, CCSM,
    Cairo Dock, lm-sensors (and sudo sensors-detect), conky-all, conkywx, Emerald, getting the date to display, add fonts, gnome-session-fallback,
    the startup sound, and I am sure I left a few out.

    Edit: Plus disabling firefox-globalmenu in Firefox, adding the desired add-ons and disabling the global menu bar (remove appmenu-gtk appmenu-gtk3 appmenu-qt). Plus installing flash and java.

    At least this is the way I like my setup to be.

    I think I'll give it a couple of days and add the PPA and hopefully not break it this time.
    Last edited by Cavsfan; December 30th, 2012 at 10:05 PM.
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen on Arch Linux
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 2.84 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, Mobo: MSI model: G31M3-L V2(MS-7529)

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Coast of Florida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    I tried to load the PPA again with almost the same results. I also added the ricotz/testing PPA.

    But, this time I managed to ppa-purge those and recover just like they were never added

    With the only exception I see so far is that my Firefox settings including NoScript settings were annihilated.

    It may be that I have to give it some time because at first nothing would open when clicked on.
    Then slowly some things would open even firefox. Since I now know how to get out of it with a purge I will try it again and give it some time.

    Did any one else require some time for thing to "kick in"?
    Last edited by Cavsfan; December 31st, 2012 at 09:46 PM.
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen on Arch Linux
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 2.84 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, Mobo: MSI model: G31M3-L V2(MS-7529)

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,604

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    I tried to load the PPA again with almost the same results. I also added the ricotz/testing PPA.

    But, this time I managed to ppa-purge those and recover just like they were never added

    With the only exception I see so far is that my Firefox settings including NoScript settings were annihilated.

    It may be that I have to give it some time because at first nothing would open when clicked on.
    Then slowly some things would open even firefox. Since I now know how to get out of it with a purge I will try it again and give it some time.

    Did any one else require some time for thing to "kick in"?
    The only problem I've noticed is that it takes several minutes for the GDM scrren to accept any input and respond. It's OK if you just use "auto-login" and never need to log out to change sessions or such.

    I've thought about trying lightdm but I haven't been annoyed enough yet

Page 4 of 60 FirstFirst ... 234561454 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •