Page 14 of 60 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 598

Thread: GNOME3 Staging PPA

  1. #131
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Code:
    On Sa, 2013-01-26 at 11:56 +0100, Christian Persch wrote:
    > > 
    > > I’m pinning g-t to back to 3.6 now. But again, please don’t force
    > > opaque background only because you wanted to get rid of a slider in
    > > the dialog. Just enable gtk_color_chooser_set_use_alpha() and use the
    > > rgba color.
    > 
    > Please see https://live.gnome.org/Terminal/FAQ for a way to enable
    > transparency for terminals (and indeed *any* application's windows).
    > All you need to run is a compositing window manager, which AFAIK
    > ubuntu's «unity» is.
    FYI the FAQ is a joke. The setting makes the whole window transparent, not only the background color.

  2. #132
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    RR install fully up-to-date with GS PPAs...
    Every atempt to use
    Code:
    sudo service networking restart
    brings GS (GDM, either vanilla or Fallback) to its knees and very hard to recover without reboot... It makes it go in low resolution graphics mode, etc... Am I alone?
    LightDM falls to its knees after this service call a bit more graciously, but, still, it falls...
    Last edited by zika; January 28th, 2013 at 05:32 PM.
    Ignota nulla curatio morbi.

  3. #133
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Coast of Florida
    Beans
    4,652
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Deleted.
    Last edited by Cavsfan; January 29th, 2013 at 01:49 PM.
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen on Arch Linux
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series

  4. #134
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    1,183
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA re: copy to & move to windows

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    at least here on Ubuntu GNOME Remix iso install with staging ppa those windows always open very small. If re-sized, closed & re-opened go back to small size
    The filechooser bug has now been fixed (thanks ricotz for packaging a newer GTK git snapshot). There's actually a new feature that came along with the bug: the filechooser popup now remembers its size! Unfortunately it remembers the very small size for those of us who were using the broken GTK this past week. After logging out and logging back in, you can either resize it to where you like or run these commands to start with the default:
    Code:
    gsettings reset org.gtk.Settings.FileChooser window-size
    gsettings reset org.gtk.Settings.FileChooser window-position
    This also fixes a bug where System Settings would display off-center when run outside of GNOME Shell.

  5. #135
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Coast of Florida
    Beans
    4,652
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Deleted.
    Last edited by Cavsfan; January 29th, 2013 at 01:50 PM.
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen on Arch Linux
    Intel Core i7-4770K, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti, Mobo: ASUSTeK, model: Z87-K, Mem: 16GB, Sound Blaster Audigy Series

  6. #136
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA re: copy to & move to windows

    Quote Originally Posted by jbicha View Post
    The filechooser bug has now been fixed (thanks ricotz for packaging a newer GTK git snapshot). There's actually a new feature that came along with the bug: the filechooser popup now remembers its size!

    Code:
    gsettings reset org.gtk.Settings.FileChooser window-size
    gsettings reset org.gtk.Settings.FileChooser window-position
    w00t! Works!

    Thanks!
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  7. #137
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    RR install fully up-to-date with GS PPAs...
    Every attempt to use
    Code:
    sudo service networking restart
    brings GS (GDM, either vanilla or Fallback) to its knees and very hard to recover without reboot... It makes it go in low resolution graphics mode, etc... Am I alone?
    Same results(s) here, zika (GDM)!

    The wheel is still spinning, but the hamster is dead... LoL!
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  8. #138
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Heh! Finally got rid of the Time & Date, in the panel.




    Don't know why I waited so long -- been bugging me forever...
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  9. #139
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Beans
    2,455
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Heh! Finally got rid of the Time & Date, in the panel.
    Don't know why I waited so long -- been bugging me forever...
    Well at first I thought when you said "Finally got rid of ..." that you meant
    "I do not know what happened, but now it is gone".

    Anyway, how did you do it?

  10. #140
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry33 View Post
    Anyway, how did you do it?
    Hi Harry,

    Well, there are different ways of doing it, but the fastest (and most easily reversible) way is:

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /usr/share/gnome-shell/js/ui/panel.js
    Simply comment out line 921...

    Code:
    const PANEL_ITEM_IMPLEMENTATIONS = {
        'activities': ActivitiesButton,
        'appMenu': AppMenuButton,
        //'dateMenu': imports.ui.dateMenu.DateMenuButton,
        'a11y': imports.ui.status.accessibility.ATIndicator,
        'volume': imports.ui.status.volume.Indicator,
        'battery': imports.ui.status.power.Indicator,
        'lockScreen': imports.ui.status.lockScreenMenu.Indicator,
        'logo': imports.gdm.loginDialog.LogoMenuButton,
        'keyboard': imports.ui.status.keyboard.InputSourceIndicator,
        'powerMenu': imports.gdm.powerMenu.PowerMenuButton,
        'userMenu': imports.ui.userMenu.UserMenuButton
    };
    Save & Restart

    That's it...
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

Page 14 of 60 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •