Page 12 of 60 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 598

Thread: GNOME3 Staging PPA

  1. #111
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Beans
    2,455
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    w00t! This thing is flying, again, with 3.8-rc3!

    I still can't figure out what borked this machine, or what fixed it. LoL!

    Oh, well, bring on the breakage...
    The 3.8 rc3 is in the Raring repo too now.

    Here:
    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/raring/...inux/3.8.0-0.2

  2. #112
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,991
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry33 View Post
    The 3.8 rc3 is in the Raring repo too now.

    Here:
    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/raring/...inux/3.8.0-0.2
    ~Cool

    I'll install that tonight.

    It's somewhat easier to get rid of stale kernels installed through the official PPA, than local installs, e.g. Ubu Tweak vs apt-get.

    Plus, it's fun to see which patches the devs have applied.

    Thanks!
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  3. #113
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry33 View Post
    ATM, if you have all the packages installed from the Gnome3 Staging PPA, you do not need another PPA to be enabled.
    Thanks for that info! What about reporting bugs? Do we still do that with this stuff?
    Last edited by Cavsfan; January 12th, 2013 at 11:53 PM.

  4. #114
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    36

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    I did a fresh install of Ubuntu 13.04, then installed gnome-shell and gdm, then added the GNOME 3 team PPA and upgraded. Surprise! The Keyboard Layout Indicator is missing. Surreal!

  5. #115
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Everything seems to running pretty smooth in GS.
    But I could not see a lot of stuff with the GnomishDark theme and the ACYL_Icon_Theme_0.9.4 seemed too dark also, so I installed icon theme Buuf3.2, changed the gtk-theme to Radience and I likes it.


  6. #116
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    242
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Search in dash is laggy and slow.

    http://youtu.be/d8HxhGZD-E4

  7. #117
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,991
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Working great, here...


    Ubu 13.04 / Gnome-Shell 3.7.4.1 (Staging) / Linux 3.8-rc4 / Chromium 26 (Canary) / Conky 1.9.0 / Plank

    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  8. #118
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    I am deeply saddened to see that they removed the ARGB visual on Gnome Terminal and now I can only get an opaque background in gnome-terminal.

    Why?

  9. #119
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    11,541

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    I'm running an Ubuntu-GNOME-Remix installed via mini.iso with both GNOME PPA's and for a few days 'gnome-tweak-tool' fails to launch. Anyone else seen that?

  10. #120
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by kansasnoob View Post
    I'm running an Ubuntu-GNOME-Remix installed via mini.iso with both GNOME PPA's and for a few days 'gnome-tweak-tool' fails to launch. Anyone else seen that?
    I did a clean install from the daily iso yesterday and when I added this PPA, gnome-tweak-tool, Firefox and many other things failed to launch.
    It would just say "starting firefox" or whatever in the bottom panel and then disappear.
    I had to purge it.
    Last edited by Cavsfan; January 27th, 2013 at 10:54 PM.

Page 12 of 60 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •