Thread: Digital Output(S/PDIF) not working/no sound

Digital Output(S/PDIF) not working/no sound

Hello.
    I'm using Ubuntu 12.10.
    My laptop has a digital sound output, which works fine on w7.
    I cannot use it on Ubuntu, analog works fine but when I switch to digital I get no sound.

I am NEW to ubuntu, so try to keep it simple in case you got some ideas.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Digital Output(S/PDIF) not working/no sound

I checked alsa mixer, in Pulse.

(S/PDIF) is off, as you can see.

Any ideas?
    Last edited by GodspeedyouBlackEmperor; December 16th, 2012 at 05:44 AM.

Beans

I only have 12.04 0n my computers but it is probably the same on 12.10 so here goes:

Install PulseAudio Volume Control from the Software Centre. This will allow you to configure your sound device and the S/PDIF port.

In the Configuration Tab select a Profile with "Digital" May require trial and error if several options.

In the Output Devices tab check AC3, DTS etc.. as by default S/PDIF will not pass these through.

P.S.
    For the ALSA Mixer GUI version you can install GNOME ALSA Mixer

Quote Originally Posted by MrSpike16 View Post
    I only have 12.04 0n my computers but it is probably the same on 12.10 so here goes:

Install PulseAudio Volume Control from the Software Centre. This will allow you to configure your sound device and the S/PDIF port.

In the Configuration Tab select a Profile with "Digital" May require trial and error if several options.

In the Output Devices tab check AC3, DTS etc.. as by default S/PDIF will not pass these through.

P.S.
    For the ALSA Mixer GUI version you can install GNOME ALSA Mixer
    There are 2 digital profiles available, I tried both.
    I did check all the formats, in both, and still no sound. The digital output is still inactive in the ALSA mixer.

Thanks for the tip.

edit: I wonder if switching 12.04 would fix this problem.
    Last edited by GodspeedyouBlackEmperor; December 16th, 2012 at 10:58 PM.

Beans