View Poll Results: would you be interested in a mobile (for cell phones, pda's, etc.) Ubuntu?

Voters
325. You may not vote on this poll
  • yes

258 79.38%
  • no

32 9.85%
  • maybe

35 10.77%
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: would you be interested in a mobile Ubuntu?

Beans

Question would you be interested in a mobile Ubuntu?

would you be interested in a mobile (cellular phone, pda, etc.) Ubuntu (Mubuntu)

check both:
    Linux Phone Standards Forum (LiPS) &
    OSDL Mobile Linux Initiative (MLI)
    "don't believe everything you think…"

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

Re: would you be interested in a mobile Ubuntu?

Quote Originally Posted by Abraxias
    [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif][COLOR=#34444e][SIZE=3][FONT=Verdana][FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif][SIZE=2][FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]would you be interested in a mobile (cellular phone, pda, etc.)
    I've been using PDA's for a few years. Palm devices only. I would love to try a linux device. Apparently the new PalmOs will be linux.

Beans

Arrow Re: would you be interested in a mobile Ubuntu?

there's a new consortium forming for mobile Linux (mentioned in tech news a few months ago); I'll add it here, as soon as they have a name & site.

however, I just learned about MontaVista’s Mobilinux Open Framework

not sure, if there are more. if you know of other mobile Linux consortiums, please post them here.

I think that all of them should collaborate with each other.
    Last edited by Abraxias; July 23rd, 2006 at 03:23 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

would be nice as i currently own a smartphone with Windows mobile 2003, but i must say its really good
    My local LUG

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Quote Originally Posted by Simian View Post
    I've been using PDA's for a few years. Palm devices only. I would love to try a linux device. Apparently the new PalmOs will be linux.
    its called ALP. that will be using gtk.

Abraxias