Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ubuntu 12.4 on iMac (10,1)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    47

    Ubuntu 12.4 on iMac (10,1)

    when I try to boot to live disk, this is what my screen looks like.

    I am using rEFIt and a USB drive. It boots fine with my Macbook, but the iMac screen looks like the attached file. The same thing happened trying to boot to a MINT distro.

    Any Ideas?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Ubuntu 12.4 on iMac (10,1)

    Hi all,

    This is the exact issue I'm having as well. I've read about booting in a safe graphics mode but can't seem to find that in the menu that's presented. Is this a USB issue? I was hesitant to install via DVD because the super drive in my iMac misbehaves quite frequently.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Ubuntu 12.4 on iMac (10,1)

    With Mac devices you should check "nonodeset" box. In the main screen of livecd press F6 then check "nomodeset". After finishing installtion, choose linux in the rEFIt screen after that press key e in the command line screen to edit it and add the word "nomodeset" before two spaces before "quitsplash" word then press F10 to start temporary. Finally edit the file grub.cfg and add the word "nomodeset" before two spaces before "quitsplash" word to make it official^^ then save it.

    Code:
    sudo gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    Last edited by elctro; October 31st, 2012 at 01:48 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Ubuntu 12.4 on iMac (10,1)

    This now gets me to a correctly formatted splash screen, but after the dots cycle a few times, it freezes. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    47

    Re: Ubuntu 12.4 on iMac (10,1)

    did you get anywhere with this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Northeast Corridor
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu 12.4 on iMac (10,1)

    I love my imac g3.. and i haven't even gotten to use it yet because of a similar issue, i believe i have narrowed it down to xorg starting due to screen resolutions... are you able to get a command prompt or is it just literally freezing?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •