Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to ubuntu forum intro

Beans

new to ubuntu forum intro

Hi I'm new to ubuntu forums my dad sent me here for information. I'm 9 years old and my dad and I are going to work together on building an ubuntu distro os from scratch using LFS so any help or advice on building ubuntu from source would be appreciated. Should I install all packages or build each package from source

Beans

Re: new to ubuntu forum intro

Quote Originally Posted by nasweitzer View Post
    Hi I'm new to ubuntu forums my dad sent me here for information. I'm 9 years old and my dad and I are going to work together on building an ubuntu distro os from scratch using LFS so any help or advice on building ubuntu from source would be appreciated. Should I install all packages or build each package from source
    should I use LFS or ubuntu image source
    note i'm new

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

If you are talking about Linux From Scratch, Ubuntu and Linux From Scratch are two different things.

Ubuntu is a binary distro, which means the package manager installs binary packages.

Linux From Scratch is a different Linux distribution that installs all programs from source code.
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

Beans

hows the best why to go about it want to build ubuntu from scratch including the image file from source this is a learning thing for me and my dad
    Last edited by nasweitzer; December 8th, 2012 at 04:14 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail