Thread: Ubuntu compatibility on Dell Alienware M18x

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Question Ubuntu compatibility on Dell Alienware M18x

I did not find a thread that actually answered my question, and did not find much on the web about it.

I am not a gamer, but simply am looking to get a M18x for the stats. I am a scientist and do a lot of image editing (for manuscript figures), work on huge papers with references stored in the document (my dissertation), and also present HD image heavy presentations. I want something that can handle all of that. I understand many people do a dual-boot option for gaming, but I am (and would like to remain) all Ubuntu. I also understand that they are very expensive and heavy, however, this is not an issue. I just want performance.

My questions are regarding the compatibility of the newest Ubuntu release on a Dell Alienware M18x, as I am looking to purchase one for the above reasons. Are there known issues? Would anyone NOT recommend doing this? Will any incompatibility/Ubuntu issues hinder the performance of the laptop?

I have been using Ubuntu for a while now, but have limited terminal skills, so I would not be able to do much setup/debugging on my own unless it was very basic/spelled out for me.

Anyone have any input?

Thanks, in advance!
    ---------------------------------
    I'm a n00b...... D'OH!!!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Ubuntu compatibility on Dell Alienware M18x

Most stats look compatible and shouldn't pose problems. Which GPU option are you willing to choose(there are several for this laptop)? You should look for reports on these GPUs performance under Ubuntu as that's were most problems with performance occur.

Also, given your expectations I recommend you take a look at System76 laptops and especially the Bonobo Extreme. They come preloaded with Ubuntu and sport excellent support for the OS.

Beans

I'm running Ubuntu on an Alienware M15x.