Thread: 2 Tux icons on rEFIt screen

Beans

2 Tux icons on rEFIt screen

I have been using Mac for over 30 years but just started to play around with Kubuntu a couple of weeks ago. I have installed Precise [64-bit] on my MacBook 3,1 without any problem and found that it uses a lot less resource than my Leopard system.

The problem is I installed Linux Mint on my Kubuntu partition permitting the installer to replace Kubuntu with Linux Mint. After a couple of days of trying out I decided Kubuntu was more to my liking, so I reverted back to Kubuntu. This was when I made the mistake, I believe I used the Installer's partition manager to just format the partition before installing Kubuntu on it.

Now I know what I should have done but I don't want to start it all over again. Kubuntu Precise is working fine. The only fly in the oinment is that when I boot up my Mac and rEFIt kicks in, there appears one Apple logo and TWO Tuxes, the middle one of which will lead me nowhere. Is there some traces of the old installation left somewhere that I can remove and get everything back to normal? Any advice would be truly appreciated.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Re: 2 Tux icons on rEFIt screen

I'm not entirely sure of how rEFIt looks for bootable partitions and operating systems. The problem is that the project was abandoned some time ago, as the last update was in 2010.

If you insist on using a boot manager replacement, I would highly recommend updating to the rEFInd fork of the code. Rod Smith has made quite a few improvements and it works much better (the last update was just a month ago). rEFInd will also handle removing rEFIt for you: http://www.rodsbooks.com/refind/