Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Runlevel issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Uruguay
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Runlevel issue

    Hello all, I've virtualised Ubuntu to be able to run a script I need.
    Thing is, I'm having heavy issues in going into text mode.
    Whenever I set the runlevel to 1 or 3, Ubuntu just ignores it and keeps loading the desktop.
    Could someone tell me how to set it properly?
    I'm using ubuntu 12.10 if that matters.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    4,429
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Runlevel issue

    What exactly are you trying to do? Do you want to use a terminal for the command-line interface? If so, just start the Terminal application after your desktop has opened.
    Full system encryption with dual-boot (beta) —— Full Circle Magazine —— Problems with WINE?
    In my day, we had the outdoors in which to run, play, and socialise. Now people use computers for that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Uruguay
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Runlevel issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Landau View Post
    What exactly are you trying to do? Do you want to use a terminal for the command-line interface? If so, just start the Terminal application after your desktop has opened.
    Everything that needed to be done has been done.
    Now I only need Ubuntu to boot as fast as possible, that's why I want it to boot in text mode.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Runlevel issue

    Ubuntu uses Upstart, so runlevels are deprecated.

    See: http://upstart.ubuntu.com/index.html

    You can disable the DM with an Upstart .override file or by booting with the `text' kernel parameter or could simply uninstall lightdm (the desktop manager).

    But, I hope that you don't mind if I echo Paddy Landau question: What exactly are you trying to do?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Uruguay
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Runlevel issue

    Quote Originally Posted by sisco311 View Post
    Ubuntu uses Upstart, so runlevels are deprecated.

    See: http://upstart.ubuntu.com/index.html

    You can disable the DM with an Upstart .override file or by booting with the `text' kernel parameter or could simply uninstall lightdm (the desktop manager).

    But, I hope that you don't mind if I echo Paddy Landau question: What exactly are you trying to do?
    Thanks.

    What I'm trying to do is run Ubuntu in text (console) mode.
    I only need it to run a script, but I have a small window of time to run it, so I need Ubuntu to boot as fast as possible, and Gnome/KDE obviously make it boot much slower.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Runlevel issue

    Quote Originally Posted by myralfa View Post
    I only need it to run a script,
    Then check out the link I posted and disable all the daemons/services that your script does not need.

    If you are unsure about or don't know which services to disable, then you have to tell us a little more about the script you are trying to run...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    2

    Re: Runlevel issue

    I want to configure grub to allow me to choose different runlevels at the boot menu. Unfortunately, it seem that because ubuntu uses upstart now, this is not possible.

    Edit: I was wrong. Simply adding a kernel parameter of '3' with grub booted into runlevel 3.
    Last edited by drvdw; March 20th, 2013 at 09:43 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    4,429
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Runlevel issue

    Quote Originally Posted by drvdw View Post
    I want to configure grub to allow me to choose different runlevels at the boot menu. Unfortunately, it seem that because ubuntu uses upstart now, this is not possible.
    @drvdw, this is a different issue. Please start a new thread for your problem.
    Full system encryption with dual-boot (beta) —— Full Circle Magazine —— Problems with WINE?
    In my day, we had the outdoors in which to run, play, and socialise. Now people use computers for that.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •