Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu makes my laptop to overheat

Beans

Ubuntu makes my laptop to overheat

Hi all,im new in this forum,in fact i just made a registration.I have read many useful threads from this forum,but i could not find a salution to my current problem.
    I would like to apologise in advance in my thread is in wrong category.
    Here is the problem.I bought IBM thinkpad T60P,i know it is a old laptop but it works perfect for me.I have been using ubuntu for 3 years now.I installed ubuntu 12.04 LTS,and some softwere that i use.I could not find fglrx driver which is compatible with this version of Ubuntu and my vidio card (Ati FireGL v5250),so i decided to use open source driver.When i try to watch HD video in YouTube it loads my processor (T7600) to 100%,also it does not play vary smooth.I forgot to mantion that i use Windows XP alongside with Ubuntu.In Win i use some old driver for video card provided by Lenovo web site.When i use Ubuntu for small tasks like listening to music or little programming,i can't even keep the laptop in my lap it is so hot.I installed lm-sensors temperatures are too high,it says that GPU temp is about 77-99 C.The processor temp is about 60C.When im using Win XP i can feel that laptop is a lot colder,my fan is running at the same speed.That is the explanation of my problem,if i have missed something you can ask me.
    I forgot to mantion that im using CPU in on_demand mode.

THANKS
    Last edited by martinhr; November 17th, 2012 at 12:59 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Ubuntu makes my laptop to overheat

Quote Originally Posted by martinhr View Post
    Hi all,im new in this forum,in fact i just made a registration.I have read many useful threads from this forum,but i could not find a salution to my current problem.
    I would like to apologise in advance in my thread is in wrong category.