Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Lamp installation

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    4

    Lamp installation

    Hi,
    IM installing LAMP server on a Ubuntu server. Im following the instrutions from http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...12.04-lts-lamp. The apache2 install seems ok. I get the IT WORKS webpage in the localhost. I then installed php5 using the command and then created the info,php file in /var/www directory. But when i go to localhost/info.php i get a message saying what should FF do with this file (gedit default). Absolute beginner!!!! Dont know what to do.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    185

    Re: Lamp insallation

    Quote Originally Posted by horgag View Post
    Hi,
    IM installing LAMP server on a Ubuntu server. Im following the instrutions from http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...12.04-lts-lamp. The apache2 install seems ok. I get the IT WORKS webpage in the localhost. I then installed php5 using the command and then created the info,php file in /var/www directory. But when i go to localhost/info.php i get a message saying what should FF do with this file (gedit default). Absolute beginner!!!! Dont know what to do.
    If you were following that guide then most probably you skipped the apache2 restart.
    Do it
    Code:
    sudo service apache2 restart

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    mod_php

    Also, is mod_php active?

    Code:
    sudo a2enmod php5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    185

    Re: mod_php

    Quote Originally Posted by Lars Noodén View Post
    Also, is mod_php active?

    Code:
    sudo a2enmod php5
    I have noticed that when libapache2-mod-php5 is installed via apt-get, it gets enabled by default.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavík, Ísland
    Beans
    12,203
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.10 Yakkety Yak

    Re: Lamp insallation

    In case someone else reads this thread, I would recommend installing with the commands

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install tasksel
    sudo tasksel install lamp-server
    rather than the link in first post.
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

  6. #6
    monkeybrain2012 is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    874

    Re: Lamp insallation

    Quote Originally Posted by mörgæs View Post
    In case someone else reads this thread, I would recommend installing with the commands

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install tasksel
    sudo tasksel install lamp-server
    rather than the link in first post.
    I would not recommend tasksel, it killed my system last time. I install via apt-get and all is fine. The link is ok but I am not sure why he su to root instead just using sudo.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •