Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Possible to give DMZ to all network?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    863

    Possible to give DMZ to all network?

    Hi,

    I would like to transform my Router http://www.usr.com/support/8003/8003-ug/index.html into a simple HUB where there is no subnetwork.

    DMZ can be done only given to a single IP.

    Thank for you tipps

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Finland/UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Possible to give DMZ to all network?

    If your router(/modem) has an option to disable the routing and use bridged mode instead, that would be exactly what you are trying to do.

    (Having an option for DMZ to all network instead of a syubsection of it wouldn't make much sense, as that would be the same as not having a router at all and usng a bridged network instead.)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    863

    Re: Possible to give DMZ to all network?

    Quote Originally Posted by mcduck View Post
    If your router(/modem) has an option to disable the routing and use bridged mode instead, that would be exactly what you are trying to do.

    (Having an option for DMZ to all network instead of a syubsection of it wouldn't make much sense, as that would be the same as not having a router at all and usng a bridged network instead.)
    is it what it is called VIRTUAL-SERVER?

    i added

    192.168.123.100 21-8000
    192.168.123.101 21-8000

    rebooted

    but the other router does not see them. only thew single router robotics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    NL, EU
    Beans
    1,477
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Possible to give DMZ to all network?

    Perhaps you would care to explain what it is you want to achieve?

    As I understand it, you want to turn that router into a switch (or hub, as may be) so switch off all of it's routing functions? That would mean you need another router to connect to the internet.
    I'm confused.
    I'm thinking about it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    863

    Re: Possible to give DMZ to all network?

    Quote Originally Posted by mlentink View Post
    Perhaps you would care to explain what it is you want to achieve?

    As I understand it, you want to turn that router into a switch (or hub, as may be) so switch off all of it's routing functions? That would mean you need another router to connect to the internet.
    I'm confused.
    indeed, you know what I meant.

    I guess that there is not routing function on this router... (above link , first post indicated the model)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    NL, EU
    Beans
    1,477
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Possible to give DMZ to all network?

    Then there's an awfully simple method: do not use the WAN-port and you've got yourself a hub.
    I'm thinking about it

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •