Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: bought a used laptop and need some help clearing out the grub loader

Beans

bought a used laptop and need some help clearing out the grub loader

Hey guys, new here and need some Ubuntu related help.
    I bought a laptop and I boot it up and there is around 5 versions of Ubuntu, a few memtests, and windows Vista and 7. I would like to dual-boot 7 and Ubuntu. I don't mind using Wubi. I guess I'm asking how to delete every OS on the grub except for 7. Please keep in mind that I am a complete Linux noob.
    Thank you for your time.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: bought a used laptop and need some help clearing out the grub loader

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Before telling you how to delete an operating system and possibly hosing it away. We do not want to do that.

Are you able to boot into any of the Ubuntu OS's?

If so start any of them, open a Browser and go to here. http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

When you have the bootinfo.txt file attach it to a new reply here by clicking on the paperclip at the top of the message pane.

The file will give us more than enough information to best advise you.

Thank you

Beans

Thank you for the warm welcome.
    I cannot boot any of the Ubuntu OS's. It says that it cannot find a certain file. I'm not for sure which one, I'm on my phone now. I can get the missing file name if it would help.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

The name of that file would probably help. Once we sort that out we will more than likely hit the hurdle of the log in password.

We will take this one (small) step at a time.

Hope you are ready for a learning curve. From my point of view this will not be very easy for me however you might take to this like a duck to water.

I take it you are able to boot into one of the Windows installations which will be of use later.

Beans