Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Connecting to windows server 2008

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    14

    Connecting to windows server 2008

    Hi all.

    I can't connect to the server at my work, with my linux pc at home. I am using remmina which should support rdp. What can I be doing wrong? I am able to connect if I am at work, connecting to their wireless network.

    Do I need to install additional plugins? Or is there no software yet able to perform this action?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    2,256

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    Quote Originally Posted by jetsonic View Post
    Hi all.

    I can't connect to the server at my work, with my linux pc at home. I am using remmina which should support rdp. What can I be doing wrong? I am able to connect if I am at work, connecting to their wireless network.

    Do I need to install additional plugins? Or is there no software yet able to perform this action?
    Do they have an RDP port opened up to the world? Are you using a VPN? Your not trying to connect with a local IP on a non-vpn network are you?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Beans
    443
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    Try using samba instead, I don't know that much about it but after a quick google it seems thats the way to go.

    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=connecting+to+w...ver+from+linux

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    They do have a port opened, as I am able to connect when using windows 7. I am not using a vpn. I am connecting to server name "rd.<name>.dk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    2,256

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyboysmithy View Post
    Try using samba instead, I don't know that much about it but after a quick google it seems thats the way to go.

    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=connecting+to+w...ver+from+linux
    Samba wont work lol.

    He just wants to remote desktop. And yes, Remmina does work. It is one of the best programs out there. Make sure you put it in console mode if you want to access the box on Terminal 0.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    lol, I did google quite a lot mate.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    Quote Originally Posted by collisionystm View Post
    Samba wont work lol.

    He just wants to remote desktop. And yes, Remmina does work. It is one of the best programs out there. Make sure you put it in console mode if you want to access the box on Terminal 0.
    Not sure what you mean with console mode and terminal 0, sry

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    2,256

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    Hmm....

    Is your Windows 7 laptop on their domain?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    No my win 7 comp is connecting from my home network...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    2,256

    Re: Connecting to windows server 2008

    Quote Originally Posted by jetsonic View Post
    Not sure what you mean with console mode and terminal 0, sry
    A terminal is split into different 'levels' so to speak. Everytime you remote desktop, the server will give you a new terminal number to remote onto.

    When you remote desktop using console mode, it takes you onto terminal 0 which is the same desktop you would see if you were in front of the computer itself.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •