Thread: cannot connect to x server ubuntu 12.04 with GNS3

Beans

cannot connect to x server ubuntu 12.04 with GNS3

I am studying for a network exam, and use a router simulator called GNS3. In order to get better performance I've installed it on Ubuntu 12.04, and it worked well. I just follwed a step by setp guide as I'm new to Ubuntu and 'nix in general.

Now when I try to start the application from the command line with the command "sudo python gns3" I'me getting an error message:

gns3: cannot connect to X server

I've tried searching for a solution to this on this site and also the gns3.net site, both search engines report that the search contains too many common words, so ignores them!

Earlier versions of Ubuntu allowed me to put the gns3 application in a folder, I am unable to locate the folder in this version, desktop is very different. However, if I can get this to work from the command line that will do for me.

How do I go about fixing this?

Andy

Beans

Re: cannot connect to x server ubuntu 12.04 with GNS3

In general you shouldn't run graphical applications using sudo - the root environment is wrong - in particular root will likely not have Xauthority i.e. since you (the ordinary logged in user) 'owns' the display, no one else (not even root) can write to it (without jumping through some hoops)

Why are you trying to run it like that anyway? I just installed the version via Synaptic and the command to run it is just

Code:
    gns3

Beans

I used sudo to run the program as that was what the installation instructions indicated I needed to do, and it has worked without any problem until yesterday.

Looking over the original video that I used to install gns3 it states to run using sudo so that the application could access ethernet interfaces on the host PC.

Trouble is I'm well out of my comfort zone when it comes to Ubuntu, and this shows when a problem crops up.