Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cannot get playback

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Beans
    295
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Cannot get playback

    Hi, I installed ubuntu studio today on my laptop. I am using a fender mustang amplifier that has built in usb, so its a recording interface. I have managed to get Ardour to record from the amp, but for the life of me I cannot get Ardour to play the recorded guitar signal back. I am using 12.10 and just cant get the sound to come out of the speakers.

    Help!
    Cheers, Mick Carey, NSW Australia - feel free to bud me
    | First time users | Forum tips | My Wiki | My Facebook | Ubuntu links | Programs |

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,297
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: Cannot get playback

    Which speakers?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Beans
    295
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: Cannot get playback

    Either the laptop speakers or the fender mustang (which I am pretty sure its capable of.)
    Cheers, Mick Carey, NSW Australia - feel free to bud me
    | First time users | Forum tips | My Wiki | My Facebook | Ubuntu links | Programs |

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,297
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: Cannot get playback

    For laptop speakers you need to set JACK to use onboard soundcard for output, (and Mustang for input).
    Check if you have master out from Ardour connected to system playback.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Lyon, France
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Cannot get playback

    You can install and check how ardour is connected with "Patchage".

    Toine
    http://blog.ttoine.net - http://ubuntustudio.org - Ubuntu Studio Team Member
    Laptop: Thinkpad T61P + Echo Audiofire 2
    Workstation: AMD A6 based, custom made, with RME HDSP 9652

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Beans
    295
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: Cannot get playback

    Here are my "connect" settings in qjackctl:

    image
    Last edited by Mick8882003; February 3rd, 2013 at 03:53 AM.
    Cheers, Mick Carey, NSW Australia - feel free to bud me
    | First time users | Forum tips | My Wiki | My Facebook | Ubuntu links | Programs |

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Beans
    295
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: Cannot get playback

    Ok, well I worked out that the LT's sound was turned off, jee, So I can now export music to a wav file and then play it after it has been recorded, just cant play it in ardour.

    Thanks in advance.
    Cheers, Mick Carey, NSW Australia - feel free to bud me
    | First time users | Forum tips | My Wiki | My Facebook | Ubuntu links | Programs |

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Beans
    295
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: Cannot get playback

    Now I am even more confused, I set the source in jack to default and in pulse to the usb connection, and I couldn't get sound in. Which controls the input, jack or pulse?

    Cheers
    Cheers, Mick Carey, NSW Australia - feel free to bud me
    | First time users | Forum tips | My Wiki | My Facebook | Ubuntu links | Programs |

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    8

    Re: Cannot get playback

    Quote Originally Posted by Mick8882003 View Post
    Hi, I installed ubuntu studio today on my laptop. I am using a fender mustang amplifier that has built in usb, so its a recording interface. I have managed to get Ardour to record from the amp, but for the life of me I cannot get Ardour to play the recorded guitar signal back. I am using 12.10 and just cant get the sound to come out of the speakers.

    Help!
    Dit you have no help, i have same Problem and released with this page...

    http://www.linuxjournal.com/content/...fender-mustang

    Sorry for my bad English, i'm German user...

    Hope that is what you need

    Greetings Lupo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Lyon, France
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Cannot get playback

    Two possibilities:
    - you use Pulse Audio only
    - you use Jack, and use the virtual jack sound card in Pulse. Please, install et use Patchage for connecting applications, it is more simple and visual !

    If you want to use Ardour, it is better to use only one sound card, or at least the same for input and output.

    If you want to use Pulse Audio only, you may try Audacity. It is very useful for one track recording, if it is enough for your need.
    http://blog.ttoine.net - http://ubuntustudio.org - Ubuntu Studio Team Member
    Laptop: Thinkpad T61P + Echo Audiofire 2
    Workstation: AMD A6 based, custom made, with RME HDSP 9652

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •