Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Quick check for bug in unity HUD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    70

    Quick check for bug in unity HUD

    Greetings, I may have found a bug, but I'd like to check with someone else first before I do a big search for known bugs, etc.

    I have several bookmarks in Nautilus. I can access these bookmarks by clicking in the left pane of Nautilus. I can also access these by right-clicking on Nautilus in the unity launcher and selecting the bookmark.

    When I have the Ubuntu Desktop selected (no app open), and I tap 'alt' to initiate the HUD, I can see these bookmarks if I start typing the name of one of them. However, pushing ENTER doesn't actually open the bookmark in nautilus...or anything. Just closes the HUD.

    If someone could just check this for me and let me know whether it is local to me, that would be great!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,628

    Re: Quick check for bug in unity HUD

    It does the same here as well. Cause it's suppose to. That's how HUD works. Instead of Alt+F or Alt+S you access the menus through HUD.
    Try Super+F and search (super is the Windows key).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    70

    Re: Quick check for bug in unity HUD

    Sorry, I'm a bit unclear. I would expect that when I pop open the HUD and locate a bookmark...then press ENTER...an action would be performed. Presumably opening Nautilus to that location. Am I wrong?

  4. #4
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,628

    Re: Quick check for bug in unity HUD

    Quote Originally Posted by Myoldmopar View Post
    Sorry, I'm a bit unclear. I would expect that when I pop open the HUD and locate a bookmark...then press ENTER...an action would be performed. Presumably opening Nautilus to that location. Am I wrong?
    That application needs to be open and have focus.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    70

    Re: Quick check for bug in unity HUD

    OK, that does make sense. Seemed a bit non-intuitive because I didn't have Nautilus in front of me, so I assumed the HUD was going to pop open (or focus) Nautilus for me.

    Thanks for checking!

  6. #6
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,628

    Re: Quick check for bug in unity HUD

    Your welcome Myoldmopar.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    70

    Re: Quick check for bug in unity HUD

    I think this should apply as a continuation...am I supposed to be able to click (or even double click) items on the HUD to activate them? I can type, use arrow keys and press ENTER, but mouse clicks don't seem to do anything.

    Thanks!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •