Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Netbeans 7.2 problem with menus when using mouse

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Netbeans 7.2 problem with menus when using mouse

    I'm using Mint 13 (cinnamon)and when netbeans 7.2 (Installed from source from website) is maximized or enlarged by dragging. The top menus (file, edit etc) do not work properly with mouse as in they do not stay open on mouse click. But works fine with keyboard. Its also works if the windows is not enlarged or not maximized.

    I found a bug report but don't know how to apply the patch.
    http://netbeans.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=198639

    Please help.
    Last edited by Perfect Storm; September 30th, 2012 at 12:59 PM. Reason: added prefix
    Ab Aeterno Scientia Potentia est

    http://thevoid.in/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    624

    Re: Netbeans 7.2 problem with menus when using mouse

    This is a "diff" patch, so you need to use the "patch" utility.

    You should always backup the source before you attempt to apply a patch file. There are no guarantees that it will apply properly the first time. You may have to adjust the patch level ("-p" parameter in order to get the files in the right folders), depending on where you are in the source tree when you attempt to apply the patch.


    Assuming you have the source code for NetBeans to apply the patch to, try:

    patch -p0 < patch filename

    when in the top of the source directory.

    If you get stuck, let me know, and I'll try to help you get the patch applied properly.

    T.J.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Netbeans 7.2 problem with menus when using mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by T.J. View Post
    This is a "diff" patch, so you need to use the "patch" utility.

    You should always backup the source before you attempt to apply a patch file. There are no guarantees that it will apply properly the first time. You may have to adjust the patch level ("-p" parameter in order to get the files in the right folders), depending on where you are in the source tree when you attempt to apply the patch.


    Assuming you have the source code for NetBeans to apply the patch to, try:

    patch -p0 < patch filename

    when in the top of the source directory.

    If you get stuck, let me know, and I'll try to help you get the patch applied properly.

    T.J.
    Thanks. But heres the problem.
    the .diff file contains
    Code:
    diff --git a/core.windows/src/org/netbeans/core/windows/view/ui/MainWindow.java b/core.windows/src/org/netbeans/core/windows/view/ui/MainWindow.java --- a/core.windows/src/org/netbeans/core/windows/view/ui/MainWindow.java +++ b/core.windows/src/org/netbeans/core/windows/view/ui/MainWindow.java @@ -58,6 +58,7 @@  import java.awt.Rectangle;  import java.awt.event.*;  import java.io.File; +import java.lang.reflect.Field;  import java.util.*;  import java.util.logging.Level;  import java.util.logging.Logger; @@ -139,6 +140,23 @@         if (mainMenuBar == null) {             mainMenuBar = createMenuBar();             ToolbarPool.getDefault().waitFinished(); +           if ("gnome-shell".equals(System.getenv("DESKTOP_SESSION"))) { +               try { +                   Class<?> xwm = Class.forName("sun.awt.X11.XWM"); +                   Field awt_wmgr = xwm.getDeclaredField("awt_wmgr"); +                   awt_wmgr.setAccessible(true); +                   Field other_wm = xwm.getDeclaredField("OTHER_WM"); +                   other_wm.setAccessible(true); +                   if (awt_wmgr.get(null).equals(other_wm.get(null))) { +                       Field metacity_wm = xwm.getDeclaredField("METACITY_WM"); +                       metacity_wm.setAccessible(true); +                       awt_wmgr.set(null, metacity_wm.get(null)); +                       LOGGER.info("installed #198639 workaround"); +                   } +               } catch (Exception x) { +                   LOGGER.log(Level.FINE, null, x); +               } +           }         }     }
    From the file i figured that i should patch
    /core.windows/src/org/netbeans/core/windows/view/ui/MainWindow.java But no file exists like that. The closest directory i found was
    /home/athul/.netbeans/7.2/config/Preferences/org/netbeans/core/windows
    Ab Aeterno Scientia Potentia est

    http://thevoid.in/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    624

    Re: Netbeans 7.2 problem with menus when using mouse

    If you can point me in the right direction to get the source tree for the exact version of NetBeans that you want to use, and the patch - I'll try to patch it for you, then modify the patch if needs be and post it here for you. It might take me a day or two with my schedule.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Netbeans 7.2 problem with menus when using mouse

    Quote Originally Posted by T.J. View Post
    If you can point me in the right direction to get the source tree for the exact version of NetBeans that you want to use, and the patch - I'll try to patch it for you, then modify the patch if needs be and post it here for you. It might take me a day or two with my schedule.
    Here's the link to Netbeans 7.2
    http://netbeans.org/downloads/start....=en&option=php

    And heres the fix
    http://netbeans.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=198639


    Thank You so much and take your time.
    Ab Aeterno Scientia Potentia est

    http://thevoid.in/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark - Scandinavia
    Beans
    19,553
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie Development Release

    Re: Netbeans 7.2 problem with menus when using mouse

    Moved to Other OS/Distro Talk.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •