Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isaan (the REAL Thailand)
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    Making server for school. ISP is PPPoe. internet-modem/router-server-WAN(eth0)-LAN(eth2)-switch-clients. eth0 is dhcp. eth2 is static 10.10.0.1 255.255.255.0.
    I am attemting to use dnsmasq to create dns caching and dhcp on LAN.
    I commented out dns-dnsmasq in NM, downloaded and installed dnsmasq, and configured dnsmasq.conf, but no caching and no dhcp. If clients are set to static ip and gateway, etc. then they go to internet fine. dig shows repeated 50ms to google.com and client shows "unknown network no internet" when i re-set the properties to dhcp.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    hole
    Beans
    417
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    I would suggest you to use Bind and dhcpd and also add on the way webmin and you will get a server that gives you good interface and results for your needs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isaan (the REAL Thailand)
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    I've been working along, and got dns caching going with Bind9, but the cache dies on reboot. DHCP is going with isc-dhcp-server and working well.
    Need to get cache to persist so multiple clients on LAN can access and will persist over time.
    I have tried to get webmin, but every direction fails with a broken link or unavailable source. The mirror link fails, the sourceforge link from their website gives 404 error. I did manage to download the tarball, but can't find an autorun or anything I can ./... dpkg tries to find it online and fails. Frustrating, it sounds great.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isaan (the REAL Thailand)
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    Where there's a will...webmin up and running.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isaan (the REAL Thailand)
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    Sorry, but it's got to be dnsmasq. Server is working, but not caching. Removed dhcp3-server, ufw and bind9. I really don't like the idea of webmin.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isaan (the REAL Thailand)
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    Update: Getting online from client, getting dhcp assignment, but no caching (it was not forwarding. Added POSTROUTING command to /etc/rc.local) This is dnsmasq, supposedly cache by default. I did go for webmin. No ufw, no NM,no bind9

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mataro, Spain
    Beans
    13,354
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    Are you using the server version, or the desktop? Network Manager is not installed by default in the server version as far as I know. So I don't understand why are you mentioning it. Did you install it?

    On another note, setting up dnsmasq for dns caching is very easy. And for dhcp too.

    Open the /etc/dnsmasq.conf file and find the line:
    #interface=

    Remove the # symbol and add the interface you want it to serve dns to, for example:
    interface=eth1

    That should be the interface leading to the clients (local LAN).

    As for dhcp, it's disabled by default so find the line that says like:
    #dhcp-range=......

    Change it to:
    dhcp-range=eth1,192.168.1.100,192.168.1.200,7d

    The subnet I used is just an example, change it to the range that you want to issue with the dhcp. You can see that you can also specify the interface where you want the dhcp to be served.

    That should be it. Restart the server and check if it's working.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isaan (the REAL Thailand)
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    That's exactly what's been done. Apparently the gnome package put NM back in. This is the server 64bit LTS with gnome added. Everythings works great, thanks to your prior help. It just doesn't cache, however. When I ping google.com from the client I get the same 83 ms as many times as I want to bother. Since we last exchanged I formatted and re-installed one last time due to a screw up with permissions and passwords I created. I was very carefull to do as little as possible as far as configuration goes, as I had heard the caching is supposed to be a default. I'm not losing sleep over it, but I would like to get it going, and hopefully learn something too.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mataro, Spain
    Beans
    13,354
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    Yeah, but what dns are the clients using? Remember that you need to tell dnsmasq dhcp to send that info to the clients like you needed to do with the router IP.

    If you clients are windows, what does ipconfig /all say for dns server? Is it the ubuntu server IP?

    PS. Why are you adding gnome to a server, for GUI?
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Isaan (the REAL Thailand)
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Need dns cache-dnsmasq

    windows clients say dns is 10.10.0.1. There are several reasons I added gnome, but mostly a gui. I've got a fair amount of hdd room (500 gb) ram is 2 gb, so I think I can live with it. One reason is I'm partly disabled and my right hand is missing some parts. I get tired of typing with my thumb. I plan on developing a website hosted on this server and wanted gimp, kompozer, etc.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •