Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9,635
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    At boot when you arrow to select the Recovery Mode options should appear after a bit. That's a non-graphical (command line) display so your video driver doesn't enter into it. One of the options is failsafe video and another is boot to command line. Command line is where you enter: nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf and comment out the section. Or if you boot with failsafe then you can edit it in the gui.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Right behind you stalking
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Favux View Post
    At boot when you arrow to select the Recovery Mode options should appear after a bit. That's a non-graphical (command line) display so your video driver doesn't enter into it. One of the options is failsafe video and another is boot to command line. Command line is where you enter: nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf and comment out the section. Or if you boot with failsafe then you can edit it in the gui.
    This is a nightmare.

    I'll tell you what happens.

    Switch on computer
    At the bottom left, there's two options
    press Del for setup, and f11 for boot settings e.g selecting to boot from usb

    Then as soon as that loads, the original error messages come up, meaning I can't press escape to access the recovery mode.

    I have also tried to boot from USB, then press ESC when it loads up.

    I did get to a black screen with just the following

    boot::

    I tried to type in a command, but nothing happened.
    Last edited by tehforum; September 24th, 2012 at 05:02 PM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9,635
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    Ouch.

    Wandering way out of my comfort zone.

    I'm guessing you hosed Grub at some point. Are you seeing the normal startup screen where it lets you select which release and kernel to boot in. Windows boot included, etc.? Recovery Mode is something you should see with Grub working correctly. It is with the selection list of kernels and so on. Not something you need to hit keys for.

    You should try to reinstall Grub using a live CD and see if that doesn't get you Recovery Mode: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Gr..._Broken_System
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2
    Last edited by Favux; September 24th, 2012 at 05:20 PM.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Right behind you stalking
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Favux View Post
    Ouch.

    Wandering way out of my comfort zone.

    I'm guessing you hosed Grub at some point. Are you seeing the normal startup screen where it lets you select which release and kernel to boot in. Windows boot included, etc.? Recovery Mode is something you should see with Grub working correctly. It is with the selection list of kernels and so on. Not something you need to hit keys for.

    You should try to reinstall Grub using a live CD and see if that doesn't get you Recovery Mode: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Gr..._Broken_System
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2
    Nah I can't see any of that.

    At the moment I'm installing boot repair, but this is taking ages.

    currently scanning systems (os-prober) this may require several minutes .... or an hour

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Right behind you stalking
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/glade2script", line 2339, in set_widget
    exec( arg )
    File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 43, in function
    return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
    gi._glib.GError: Failed to open file 'boot-repair.png': No such file or directory
    Error in sys.excepthook:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/apport_python_hook.py", line 68, in apport_excepthook
    binary = os.path.realpath(os.path.join(os.getcwdu(), sys.argv[0]))
    OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory

    Original exception was:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/glade2script", line 2339, in set_widget
    exec( arg )
    File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 43, in function
    return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
    gi._glib.GError: Failed to open file 'boot-repair.png': No such file or directory
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/glade2script", line 2339, in set_widget
    exec( arg )
    File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 43, in function
    return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
    gi._glib.GError: Failed to open file 'boot-repair.png': No such file or directory
    Error in sys.excepthook:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/apport_python_hook.py", line 68, in apport_excepthook
    binary = os.path.realpath(os.path.join(os.getcwdu(), sys.argv[0]))
    OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory

    Original exception was:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/glade2script", line 2339, in set_widget
    exec( arg )
    File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gi/types.py", line 43, in function
    return info.invoke(*args, **kwargs)
    gi._glib.GError: Failed to open file 'boot-repair.png': No such file or directory

    (glade2script:5473): Gtk-WARNING **: Attempting to store changes into `/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel', but failed: Failed to create file '/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel.CLDHLW': No such file or directory

    (glade2script:5473): Gtk-WARNING **: Attempting to set the permissions of `/root/.local/share/recently-used.xbel', but failed: No such file or directory

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Right behind you stalking
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    That's what appeared in the terminal when I used boot-repair

    http://paste.ubuntu.com/1224887/

    I give up.

    I'm just going to reinstall Ubuntu 12.04

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    2,098
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    I'm not familiar enough with the modern grub to advise how to circumvent your issues. One way might be to add a nomodeset in /boot/grub/grub.cfg on the harddisk (using the liveCD / liveUSB)

    Code:
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-31-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
            recordfail
            gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
            insmod gzio
            insmod part_msdos
            insmod ext2
            set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
            search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2e61cbc5-d982-4ada-8af7-cbdea09bb295
            linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-31-generic root=UUID=2e61cbc5-d982-4ada-8af7-cbdea09bb295 ro   quiet splash nomodeset $vt_handoff
            initrd  /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-31-generic
    }
    Add 'nomodeset' to the line in red (as shown underlined) and see if the boot situation improves. You can also remove the 'quiet splash'. I don't expect you to get the grub menu, but it might help to get to a 'normal' login screen.
    That's probably how far I will be able to help.

    Quote Originally Posted by tehforum View Post
    The monitor is an LG IPS235 Flatron and I have a driver disk...but that's for Windows only.
    This is the only Windows 'driver' disk that I'm aware of that is actually usefull under Linux. For the simple reason that it's not a driver disk.

    The disk contains an inf file that specifies the resolution(s). You will find something like the below (which is for my Acer X243W).
    Code:
    [X243W_Analog.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1920,1200",Mode1,,"30.0-82.0,56.0-76.0,+,-"
    HKR,,PreferredMode,,"1920,1200,60"
    HKR,,ICMProfile,0,"X243W.icm"
    An explanation can be found at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx

    For the example above, 30.0-82.0 is the range for horizontal refresh rate while 56.0-76.0 is the range for the vertical refresh rate.
    You can use these values in a xorg.conf file in the monitor section.
    If you don't make backups of your important data, your data is obviously not important to you.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Right behind you stalking
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Wim Sturkenboom View Post
    I'm not familiar enough with the modern grub to advise how to circumvent your issues. One way might be to add a nomodeset in /boot/grub/grub.cfg on the harddisk (using the liveCD / liveUSB)

    Code:
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-31-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
            recordfail
            gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
            insmod gzio
            insmod part_msdos
            insmod ext2
            set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
            search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2e61cbc5-d982-4ada-8af7-cbdea09bb295
            linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-31-generic root=UUID=2e61cbc5-d982-4ada-8af7-cbdea09bb295 ro   quiet splash nomodeset $vt_handoff
            initrd  /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-31-generic
    }
    Add 'nomodeset' to the line in red (as shown underlined) and see if the boot situation improves. You can also remove the 'quiet splash'. I don't expect you to get the grub menu, but it might help to get to a 'normal' login screen.
    That's probably how far I will be able to help.

    This is the only Windows 'driver' disk that I'm aware of that is actually usefull under Linux. For the simple reason that it's not a driver disk.

    The disk contains an inf file that specifies the resolution(s). You will find something like the below (which is for my Acer X243W).
    Code:
    [X243W_Analog.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1920,1200",Mode1,,"30.0-82.0,56.0-76.0,+,-"
    HKR,,PreferredMode,,"1920,1200,60"
    HKR,,ICMProfile,0,"X243W.icm"
    An explanation can be found at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx

    For the example above, 30.0-82.0 is the range for horizontal refresh rate while 56.0-76.0 is the range for the vertical refresh rate.
    You can use these values in a xorg.conf file in the monitor section.
    Hello,

    I re-installed Ubuntu 12.04 and I'm back and running.

    OK, I found the .inf file and this is what I've got

    Code:
    ;=============================================================== 
    ; [IPS235.INF] 
    ; Revision 1.0   March-11-2011
    ; Copyright(c)1998~2011 LG Electronics Inc.,All Rights Reserved.
    ;===============================================================
    ;
    [Version]
    signature="$CHICAGO$"
    Class=Monitor
    ClassGuid={4D36E96E-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
    Provider=%LG%
    CatalogFile=IPS235.cat
    DriverVer=03/11/2011,1.0
    
    [ControlFlags]
    ExcludeFromSelect.NT=Monitor\GSM587C
    ExcludeFromSelect.NT=Monitor\GSM587D
    ExcludeFromSelect.NT=Monitor\GSM587E
    
    [DestinationDirs]
    DefaultDestDir = 11
    IPS235_Analog.CopyFiles = 23
    IPS235_Digital.CopyFiles = 23
    IPS235_HDMI.CopyFiles = 23
    
    [SourceDisksNames]
    1=%DiskName%,,,
    
    [SourceDisksFiles]
    IPS235.ICM=1
    
    [Manufacturer]
    %LG%=LG,NTamd64
    
    [LG]
    %IPS235_Analog%=IPS235_Analog.Install,Monitor\GSM587C
    %IPS235_Digital%=IPS235_Digital.Install,Monitor\GSM587D
    %IPS235_HDMI%=IPS235_HDMI.Install,Monitor\GSM587E
    
    [LG.NTamd64]
    %IPS235_Analog%=IPS235_Analog.Install,Monitor\GSM587C
    %IPS235_Digital%=IPS235_Digital.Install,Monitor\GSM587D
    %IPS235_HDMI%=IPS235_HDMI.Install,Monitor\GSM587E
    
    [IPS235_Analog.Install]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=IPS235_Analog.AddReg,1920,DPMS
    CopyFiles=IPS235_Analog.CopyFiles
    
    [IPS235_Digital.Install]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=IPS235_Digital.AddReg,1920,DPMS
    CopyFiles=IPS235_Digital.CopyFiles
    
    [IPS235_HDMI.Install]
    DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
    AddReg=IPS235_HDMI.AddReg,1920,DPMS
    CopyFiles=IPS235_HDMI.CopyFiles
    
    [DEL_CURRENT_REG]
    HKR,MODES
    HKR,,MaxResolution
    HKR,,DPMS
    HKR,,ICMProfile
    
    [1920]
    HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1920,1080"
    
    [DPMS]
    HKR,,DPMS,,1
    
    [IPS235_Analog.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1920,1080",Mode1,,"30.0-83.0,56.0-75.0,+,+"
    HKR,,PreferredMode,,"1920,1080,60"
    HKR,,ICMprofile,0,"IPS235.ICM"
    
    [IPS235_Digital.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1920,1080",Mode1,,"30.0-83.0,56.0-75.0,+,+"
    HKR,,PreferredMode,,"1920,1080,60"
    HKR,,ICMprofile,0,"IPS235.ICM"
    
    [IPS235_HDMI.AddReg]
    HKR,"MODES\1920,1080",Mode1,,"30.0-83.0,56.0-61.0,+,+"
    HKR,,PreferredMode,,"1920,1080,60"
    HKR,,ICMprofile,0,"IPS235.ICM"
    The relevant part (I'm guessing) is in bold. do that means 30-83 is the range for the horizontal refresh, and 56-75 is the range for the vertical refresh rate.

    I opened up my xorg.conf file and all I got was this

    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Default Device"
    	Option	"NoLogo"	"True"
    EndSection
    How would I go about adding my settings to this file?

    Thanks

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9,635
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    Now that you're back into Ubuntu run the command xrandr in a terminal and post the output.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    2,098
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Error message on screen due to monitor Ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by tehforum View Post
    How would I go about adding my settings to this file?
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Acer"
        ModelName      "X243W"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 82.0
        VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
        Option         "DPMS"
        Modeline "1920x1200@50" 164.50 1920 1952 2576 2608 1200 1225 1235 1261
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        VendorName     "Intel"
    #   Option         "UseEDID" "False"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection     "Display"
            Modes      "1920x1200@50"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    This is part of an old xorg.conf of mine. You can use the program cvt to calculated a modeline and replace the first red line. Next adjust the second red line to reflect the new 'name' (underlined in both red lines). There is one more option that can be added to prevent the driver from probing the monitor capabilities; I've marked it in blue in the device section and it's currently commented out (so not used).
    If you don't make backups of your important data, your data is obviously not important to you.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •