Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problem with terminal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    40

    Problem with terminal

    hi
    when I open "terminal" and going to bash, then I close that it warn me:
    There is still a process running in this terminal. Closing the terminal will kill it.
    I haven't any open software in terminal but show that.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Problem with terminal

    Did you type anything in the terminal? If so, what? Also, which version of Ubuntu are you using?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    9,249
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Problem with terminal

    Hi

    Can you post the output of

    Code:
    cat ~/.bashrc
    That is where is would look as well.

    Kind regards
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

    Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Porto Alegre -
    Beans
    124
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: Problem with terminal

    When you open a terminal, automatically you start a bash session!

    If you then type
    Code:
    $ bash
    you'll open another session within the first one!

    Thus, the complain when you close the terminal window without exiting the inner session...
    spier
    --------
    Linux user #410105

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    40

    Re: Problem with terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by Lars Noodén View Post
    Did you type anything in the terminal? If so, what? Also, which version of Ubuntu are you using?
    I use ubuntu 12.4 and i type below text in terminal:
    hamed@hamed-desktop:~$ sudo bash
    [sudo] password for hamed:
    root@hamed-desktop:~#
    Last edited by h66m9d; September 22nd, 2012 at 05:26 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    40

    Re: Problem with terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    Hi

    Can you post the output of

    Code:
    cat ~/.bashrc
    That is where is would look as well.

    Kind regards
    That result is:
    Code:
    root@hamed-desktop:~# cat ~/.bashrc
    # ~/.bashrc: executed by bash(1) for non-login shells.
    # see /usr/share/doc/bash/examples/startup-files (in the package bash-doc)
    # for examples
    
    # If not running interactively, don't do anything
    [ -z "$PS1" ] && return
    
    # don't put duplicate lines or lines starting with space in the history.
    # See bash(1) for more options
    HISTCONTROL=ignoreboth
    
    # append to the history file, don't overwrite it
    shopt -s histappend
    
    # for setting history length see HISTSIZE and HISTFILESIZE in bash(1)
    HISTSIZE=1000
    HISTFILESIZE=2000
    
    # check the window size after each command and, if necessary,
    # update the values of LINES and COLUMNS.
    shopt -s checkwinsize
    
    # If set, the pattern "**" used in a pathname expansion context will
    # match all files and zero or more directories and subdirectories.
    #shopt -s globstar
    
    # make less more friendly for non-text input files, see lesspipe(1)
    [ -x /usr/bin/lesspipe ] && eval "$(SHELL=/bin/sh lesspipe)"
    
    # set variable identifying the chroot you work in (used in the prompt below)
    if [ -z "$debian_chroot" ] && [ -r /etc/debian_chroot ]; then
        debian_chroot=$(cat /etc/debian_chroot)
    fi
    
    # set a fancy prompt (non-color, unless we know we "want" color)
    case "$TERM" in
        xterm-color) color_prompt=yes;;
    esac
    
    # uncomment for a colored prompt, if the terminal has the capability; turned
    # off by default to not distract the user: the focus in a terminal window
    # should be on the output of commands, not on the prompt
    #force_color_prompt=yes
    
    if [ -n "$force_color_prompt" ]; then
        if [ -x /usr/bin/tput ] && tput setaf 1 >&/dev/null; then
    	# We have color support; assume it's compliant with Ecma-48
    	# (ISO/IEC-6429). (Lack of such support is extremely rare, and such
    	# a case would tend to support setf rather than setaf.)
    	color_prompt=yes
        else
    	color_prompt=
        fi
    fi
    
    if [ "$color_prompt" = yes ]; then
        PS1='${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\[\033[01;32m\]\u@\h\[\033[00m\]:\[\033[01;34m\]\w\[\033[00m\]\$ '
    else
        PS1='${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\u@\h:\w\$ '
    fi
    unset color_prompt force_color_prompt
    
    # If this is an xterm set the title to user@host:dir
    case "$TERM" in
    xterm*|rxvt*)
        PS1="\[\e]0;${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\u@\h: \w\a\]$PS1"
        ;;
    *)
        ;;
    esac
    
    # enable color support of ls and also add handy aliases
    if [ -x /usr/bin/dircolors ]; then
        test -r ~/.dircolors && eval "$(dircolors -b ~/.dircolors)" || eval "$(dircolors -b)"
        alias ls='ls --color=auto'
        #alias dir='dir --color=auto'
        #alias vdir='vdir --color=auto'
    
        alias grep='grep --color=auto'
        alias fgrep='fgrep --color=auto'
        alias egrep='egrep --color=auto'
    fi
    
    # some more ls aliases
    alias ll='ls -alF'
    alias la='ls -A'
    alias l='ls -CF'
    
    # Add an "alert" alias for long running commands.  Use like so:
    #   sleep 10; alert
    alias alert='notify-send --urgency=low -i "$([ $? = 0 ] && echo terminal || echo error)" "$(history|tail -n1|sed -e '\''s/^\s*[0-9]\+\s*//;s/[;&|]\s*alert$//'\'')"'
    
    # Alias definitions.
    # You may want to put all your additions into a separate file like
    # ~/.bash_aliases, instead of adding them here directly.
    # See /usr/share/doc/bash-doc/examples in the bash-doc package.
    
    if [ -f ~/.bash_aliases ]; then
        . ~/.bash_aliases
    fi
    
    # enable programmable completion features (you don't need to enable
    # this, if it's already enabled in /etc/bash.bashrc and /etc/profile
    # sources /etc/bash.bashrc).
    if [ -f /etc/bash_completion ] && ! shopt -oq posix; then
        . /etc/bash_completion
    fi
    Last edited by h66m9d; September 22nd, 2012 at 05:32 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Problem with terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by h66m9d View Post
    I use ubuntu 12.4 and i type below text in terminal:
    <snip>
    There you have it. You have a second instance of bash running as root. You'll have to exit root's bash first to avoid that message. Bash can be exited by pressing ctrl-D or entering exit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    40

    Re: Problem with terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by Lars Noodén View Post
    There you have it. You have a second instance of bash running as root. You'll have to exit root's bash first to avoid that message. Bash can be exited by pressing ctrl-D or entering exit
    yes. now I understand
    Thanks friends
    Last edited by h66m9d; September 22nd, 2012 at 06:46 PM. Reason: s

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    11

    Re: Problem with terminal

    I just installed sqlite from source on my Ubuntu 11.10 box. I never typed "bash" or any other shell's name during the session, but, apparently the "make" or the sqlite3 program shelled out a few times and did not exit. (I did misuse sqlite3 a good bit.) After four CTRL-D presses with this response:
    an echo of exit and another prompt,
    the 5th try closed my terminal window.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •