Thread: boot menu already showing up before installation

Hybrid View

Beans

boot menu already showing up before installation

I am very new and this is my very first time installing ubuntu. I am aiming to dual boot ubuntu with windows 7. I haven't started installing ubuntu yet, But I will start as soon as i get my ethernet cable to use it during the installation for updates and drivers (i am currently using wifi on my laptop).

So here's what happened:

-i burned it to disk
    -after burning i restarted to see if working
    -it didn't boot to live cd so i clicked on the third option "help me to boot from cd"
    -i installed the boot cd helper
    -booting from ubuntu now worked
    -the boot menu shows everytime when restarting computer even without the live cd

My question is how do i get rid of this ? it says in the tutorial that it wouldn't go to boot menu after installation , shouldn't it still need a software to configure the boot settings (Like EasyBCD)? I haven't started installing ubuntu yet but it already shows the boot menu after rebooting without a cd, is this a feature from the "help me to boot from cd" option?

i am following this tutorial
    http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2011/05/22...buntu-11-04/2/
    Last edited by adamasuka; September 22nd, 2012 at 10:08 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Re: boot menu already showing up before installation

I am not sure what the "help me to boot from cd" option is, but I guess it installed some sort of small bootloader to do that when you used it. I also guess it says it won't be there after install because the grub2 bootloader will be installed and it will overwrite it.